Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can Vicious Strike be used more than once in a single attack? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
taleden .
msg tools
Gaarkhan has a 3xp ability called Vicious Strike, which reads:

1 (strain): Use when you declare an attack with a (melee) weapon. Apply +1 (damage) to the attack results.

We note that the card does not say "exhaust" so it could certainly be used more than once per round or activation, such as on separate attacks. However it isn't clear whether it could be used repeatedly on the same attack, such as taking 2 (strain) to add +2 (damage) to a single attack.

I can find rules relating to surge abilities that say each printed surge ability can only be used once per attack (except when overridden such as by Rebel Saboteurs), but this is not a surge ability. Still, perhaps the same principle applies that a single printed ability can only be used (once) or not used during each timing instance (in this case, each attack)?

What do you think?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You only declare attack once per attack, so there is only one trigger. You can't thus activate it twice per attack.

(Each ability can only be triggered once per trigger instance.)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
taleden .
msg tools
Oh, there it is, under "Abilities". Missed that somehow.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.