David Fernandez Marquez
Spain
Tarragona
Tarragona
flag msg tools
So, as the title said, I've been looking at the idea of getting into building myself a couple foamcore inserts. To my name, I have a fair amount of 3mm foamcore board (I know people like the EOoG recommend 5mm thick, but I can actually find 3mm foam in shops in my town while for 5mm I would have to order online and eat more than the cost of the board in shipping), an exacto knife, glue, and a whole lot of clumsiness .

Thing is, I have been measuring and doing some plans, but I'm a total noob when it comes to any kind of arts and crafts. So any super important tips to keep in mind would be really, really welcome... plus I have one actual, direct question from ideas occurred that I have no idea how to implement.

Does anyone have any tips on making an openable lid in foamcore? I would love to make the center box in the BattleCON character separation thing I'm planning have a lid with a glossy image pasted on, hiding all the components underneath, but I have no idea how to make a raise-able (is that a word?) lid with this material. Would simply going to a hardware store and buying a couple small hinges work?

Thanks for any help!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Middleton
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
my Hobbes is a Madcat
mb
Not sure if this is what you are going for, but if you just score the foamcore (cut the paper on just one side, but do not let your blade cut through the other side) then it will essentially make a hinge.

This is also how I do my corners as well.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve R Bullock
United States
Palm Coast
Florida
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

One other bit of advice- use BRAND NEW BLADES - often- or you will get nasty ragged cuts.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Outside
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It's worth it to invest in a metal ruler to use as a guide for your cuts.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide