Aaron White
Australia
Bathurst
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Bennett from Brawl
badge
Slow and Thoughtful
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For the boost effect of Focus called Reading, it reads "Name a Normal Attack and Strike. The opponent must Strike with that card if able or reveal a hand without that card if they don't have it."

I believe it is resolved as follows.

1. Name a Normal Attack.
2. Start to resolve a Strike, choosing a card from your hand and placing it face down.
3. The opponent must then play (face up?) the Normal Attack named if able.
4. If the opponent does not have the Normal Attack named in their hand to play, they reveal their hand.
5. Then they play a card for Strike face down.
6. Finish resolving the Strike.
7. Draw a card.

I believe the above is correct, but the wording left me wanting to make sure.

Thanks in advance!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Van Laningham
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This order is correct. If they play the card you named it will still be played face down (for formalities sake, and possibly other effects that might care), the only difference being they will reveal their hand before they strike if they do not have the card you named.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron White
Australia
Bathurst
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Bennett from Brawl
badge
Slow and Thoughtful
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Awesome, thanks for the reply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Talton
United States
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
(╯‵Д′)╯彡┻━┻
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, because the boost initiates a strike, there won't be a draw afterwards, but this was covered in the other post about the system too.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Lemay
Canada
Montréal
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ithry wrote:
This order is correct. If they play the card you named it will still be played face down (for formalities sake, and possibly other effects that might care), the only difference being they will reveal their hand before they strike if they do not have the card you named.


So you still have to choose (and put face down) your attack before the opponent tells you if he has the attack you named?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Green
msg tools
Comet wrote:
Ithry wrote:
This order is correct. If they play the card you named it will still be played face down (for formalities sake, and possibly other effects that might care), the only difference being they will reveal their hand before they strike if they do not have the card you named.


So you still have to choose (and put face down) your attack before the opponent tells you if he has the attack you named?


Correct. The idea is to let you punish an opponent who is being predictable, but to give them an advantage if you make the wrong call.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.