Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Axis Empires: Totaler Krieg!» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Conquering" France without Case Yellow (Vichy rules) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Ruzzo
United States
Manchester
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So the rules seem to indicate that France can be neutralized by imposing Case Yellow and making Vichy a neutral inactive. This seems to be the only way to share a border with Spain for the purposes of trying to activate them with some kind of political influence.

Then the normal vichy rules (if case yellow is not in effect) seem to imply that France is simply never conquered, and unless every city is garrisoned it can just start rebuilding troops. Of course, occupied france also needs to be garrisoned to present the France rises event, so the net result is a few (3 or 4?) extra detachments or 1 step garrisons. It also seems that the german player would need to occupy the areas in/adjacent to the rough hexes in Vichy territory to prevent partisan base placement.

Is all this correct? Am i missing any other consequences of these Vichy rules?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Hanna
United States
New Smyrna Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
you are correct. Also Germany must deal with French North Africa in the event Case Yellow is not chosen.

However, there is always the remote possibility that Portugal is activated as Axis through odd sequences of political events, and then would act as an alternative activation conduit to achieve an Axis Spain. However the same possibility would exist for Spain to activate through political events, then activate Portugal.

I've not analyzed the rules to see how this outcome could arise; there is also I suppose a possibility of border war of spain with either portugal or vichy.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Uwe A. Redjac
China
Beijing
Beijing
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Quote:
So the rules seem to indicate that France can be neutralized by imposing Case Yellow and making Vichy a neutral inactive. This seems to be the only way to share a border with Spain for the purposes of trying to activate them with some kind of political influence.


If you refer to the use of a Treaty card on Spain then you are correct. For that one you will need to turn Occupied France into a German Dependent to be allowed to select Spain as the target of your Treaty card.

There are other effects though (certain Conditional Events for instance)that allow to apply the Influence Event without such “border restrictions”. Far and few in between, but they exist.

Quote:
The normal vichy rules (if case yellow is not in effect) seem to imply that France is simply never conquered, and unless every city is garrisoned it can just start rebuilding troops. Of course, occupied france also needs to be garrisoned to present the France rises event, so the net result is a few (3 or 4?) extra detachments or 1 step garrisons. It also seems that the German player would need to occupy the areas in/adjacent to the rough hexes in Vichy territory to prevent partisan base placement. Is all this correct? Am i missing any other consequences of these Vichy rules?


What you seem to miss that if you create Vichy through Case Yellow, it will become a Neutral Country. That means their African Colonies become off limits unless someone decides to declare War on Vichy. And of course that all Vichy units stay idly off the map and not bother you. And you may even be able to seize its Fleet for Axis use.

If you create Vichy thru the Conquest of France on the other hand, Vichy will fight on right away as an Active Allied Country. So the garrison “requirements” are considerably heavier if you take into account that Vichy then can go on and raise colonials in its North African Dependents to bother you. And its Fleet will also be available for the Allies.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Moeller
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
Avatar
Also, French ports are all open ports for the Wallies if they aren't occupied by the Germans.

And France/Vichy can be a target for political events like Minor Country Politics.

In short, garrison requirements are increased by more than 3-4 steps.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.