Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

War of the Ring: Lords of Middle-earth» Forums » Rules

Subject: Withcking, chief of the ringwraiths rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nicky Jam
msg tools
I've been playing many games with my friends and in the last ones we had heated discussions about this Character, so we decided to post on this forum as we can't come up with a solution.

The WK card says that if the fellowship is declared in a region without a stronghold the SP can move him in the same region. What we question is if this power applies in any case the ringbearers icon is placed in any of the aforementioned regions or only in the moment when the FPP decided to declare his position.

To make it clear this is an example.

A hunt is successful and the fellowship is revealed in high pass. Assuming that the new WK is already in play can the SP move him immediately there?

Thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Heikki Laakkonen
Finland
Jyväskylä
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope. The WK, CotR's ability works only when the Fellowship declares, not when the Fellowship is revealed.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Madsen
United States
Kearns
Utah
flag msg tools
Trains!
badge
Houseplant?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This should be in the War of the Ring: Lords of Middle-earth forums.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert
United States
Lebanon
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
Penny Press Kickstarter: 1,284 backers - $60,376! Amazing! Thank you!!!
badge
Play Penny Press!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. When the fellowship is revealed it has to declare in a region without a free people stronghold. When it does, the Witch King swoops in.

Is there ever a reason for the fellowship to declare in a region that's not a stronghold under any other circumstances?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raf B
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RobertDD wrote:
Yes. When the fellowship is revealed it has to declare in a region without a free people stronghold. When it does, the Witch King swoops in.

No, the Chief of the Ringwraiths does not follow the Fellowship to its new location when it is involuntarily Revealed (by cards or the effect of a successful Hunt), only when it is voluntarily Declared at the beginning of a turn.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick
Germany
flag msg tools
mb
RobertDD wrote:
Is there ever a reason for the fellowship to declare in a region that's not a stronghold under any other circumstances?


Yes if the Fellowship was revealed in a Shadow Stronghold and/or on a Position with a Shadow Army then you want to declare as soon as possible (i would at least). If not each will grant a reroll on the Hunt. (A Nazgul would be a Threat too but since the Witch King will follow you anyway it makes it a moot Point)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.