Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

The Great War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dice Rolling rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Captain Nemo
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are circumstances when getting a hit is impossible, such as an artillery shell hitting an empty area. However, we are rolling the dice on the grounds that it might still get an HQ token. Is this the right approach or have we missed something?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
StevenE Smooth Sailing...
United States
Torrance
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Without having the rules... I have to ask, can artillery gain HQ tokens?

In Samurai Battles rifles cannot gain honor... therefore, I imagine in TGW some units will not be able to gain HQ tokens.

But without the rules I could be mistaken... Waiting patiently for a 6 unit delivery.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Homo Ludens
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 23

"Collect one HQ token for each HQ symbol roll."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin S
United Kingdom
Bedfordshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
hammurabi70 wrote:
There are circumstances when getting a hit is impossible, such as an artillery shell hitting an empty area. However, we are rolling the dice on the grounds that it might still get an HQ token. Is this the right approach or have we missed something?


The rules seem clear:

"When no unit or wire token is on a hex, you need not roll the battle dice for these hexes" (p.22)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Captain Nemo
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Achtung_Panzer10 wrote:
hammurabi70 wrote:
There are circumstances when getting a hit is impossible, such as an artillery shell hitting an empty area. However, we are rolling the dice on the grounds that it might still get an HQ token. Is this the right approach or have we missed something?


The rules seem clear:

"When no unit or wire token is on a hex, you need not roll the battle dice for these hexes" (p.22)


A good point but NEED is not MUST and on p23 it states that the player picks up an HQ token for each such symbol rolled so by not rolling you could be missing an opportunity to gain resources.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin S
United Kingdom
Bedfordshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
hammurabi70 wrote:
Achtung_Panzer10 wrote:
hammurabi70 wrote:
There are circumstances when getting a hit is impossible, such as an artillery shell hitting an empty area. However, we are rolling the dice on the grounds that it might still get an HQ token. Is this the right approach or have we missed something?


The rules seem clear:

"When no unit or wire token is on a hex, you need not roll the battle dice for these hexes" (p.22)


A good point but NEED is not MUST and on p23 it states that the player picks up an HQ token for each such symbol rolled so by not rolling you could be missing an opportunity to gain resources.


I think the critical point is given on page 18 where we get:
"HQ tokens are gained for each HQ symbol rolled, when targetting an enemy unit in combat".
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Duke
United States
Wynne
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And a great rule this is. The idea of rolling die just to hope to roll HQ would quickly suck.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.