Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Forbidden Stars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can the ships in void be attacked? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jimmy CHAN
Hong Kong
Tseung Kwan O
New Territories, HK-SAR
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I can't find the rules to attack opponent ships in void? Can you help?
If I use ships to occupy all the voids in a system and the system and the world are in a corner, the objective token in that world will become safe. Right?!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Cully
United Kingdom
Stonehouse
Gloucestershire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ships are units, the same combat mechanics apply for ships as for ground units.

So, play an advance action into the sector, move ships into an occupied void, trigger a combat.

Note, it you trigger void combat, you can't move troops too. One combat per advance...

Second note: orbital bombardment can only happen if combat doesn't occur

Hope that helps?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jimmy CHAN
Hong Kong
Tseung Kwan O
New Territories, HK-SAR
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Chris.
Can Ground unit attack ships?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nevin Ball
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
That tickles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ground units cannot attack ships.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Calixtus Wee
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
designer
You mean when you trigger a space battle, you may still move your troops, but they cannot battle that turn? I don't think so, since you need contiguous friendly areas to move your ground troops around.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin H
msg tools
happy nonetheless
badge
proud while playing
Avatar
mb
You said it correctly, they need friendly space. So you can only move troops if you have another void which to go through, and not trigger groundcombat.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Björn
Germany
Herne
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Would I really be allowed to move the ground units if I can get to the destination by using a different legal path? What would happen then? Would they occupy the enemy planet together with the enemy troops?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Almond
United Kingdom
Nelson
Lancashire
flag msg tools
mbmb
No

If there has been a space combat you cannot move onto a enemy controlled world under the current order. You may move onto a uncontested world.

You would need to use a second order or special ability to move your units onto the contested world.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin H
msg tools
happy nonetheless
badge
proud while playing
Avatar
mb
The rules reference, Advance Order (page2)
1. Move ships.
2. Move ground troops.
3. Resolve combat.

also, 2nd bullet (page3) "[..]only 1 area can become constested[...]"


Let's take tile 4b.

If there are enemy units on "savargo" and rhuin's stand (void).

You can move your ships to created constested void, and place ground trops on "halja".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
stephen biggs
England
flag msg tools
Page.3 of rules reference:
"Only one area can become contested during a single Advance Order."
So if your opponent(s) have units in all 4 areas in the system where your advance order token is. You are only allowed to move into/contest one of those areas.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Cully
United Kingdom
Stonehouse
Gloucestershire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
WillyRapier wrote:

Note, it you trigger void combat, you can't move troops too. One combat per advance...


Updated: You cant move troops and start a second combat - you can move troops to friendly or uncontested worlds, as long as there is an uncontested, friendly, contiguous route, into the active region
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.