Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Doomtown: Reloaded» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions mainly about NTB saddlebag rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Odd Eye
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi folks,

It seems with every new pack I find new questions that come up in play, so here's the latest list:

1.)On No Turning Back it asks you to ace a dude to do an effect. If you choose someone like The Brute or Harrowed dudes (or if you have a Blessed with Lay On Hands), do they still get aced or are they discarded due to card text? Can they be saved by an ability like Dr Emanuel Ashbel?

2.) Does Mark Of Pestilence affect both sets of dudes?

3.) Does Mark Of Pestilence affect boot all dudes or only those involved in the shootout?

4.) Consecration doesn't have the keyword 'Boot' on it (all the other miracles do). Can it be used more than once per day in different shootouts?

5.) Can a dude attach more than one sidekick?

6.) If yes to Q5, can they attach multiple copies of the same sidekick or do they all need to be different?

7.) In order to allow a Mad Scientist to invent new weapons, can you (as shoppin') attach another weapon to the Mad Scientist to make them discard the Bio-Charged Neutralizer?

8.) Can gunslingers be a) Wanted; b) Discarded; c) Aced; in order to trigger events like Gomorra Jail/Undertakers (I understand that they cannot be aced in terms of permanent removal from the game or enter the actual discard pile)?

9.) If Concealed Weapons has been played by Player A and then, during the shootout, Player B plays unprepared which boots Player A's Shotgun. If Player A plays Missed!, are they then permitted to attach a new weapon to replace the Shotgun and will that weapon be unbooted?

10.) Do hexs (and other similar cards) get aced if the pull fails (such as Raising Hell)?

Apologies for the length of the list but these questions occur in real games that I have and I save them until there are enough of them.

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff Thomas
United Kingdom
Enfield
London
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
oddeye45 wrote:
1.)On No Turning Back it asks you to ace a dude to do an effect. If you choose someone like The Brute or Harrowed dudes (or if you have a Blessed with Lay On Hands), do they still get aced or are they discarded due to card text? Can they be saved by an ability like Dr Emanuel Ashbel?


The only answer I'm not entirely sure of, I believer if you replace the cost of a card, you no longer get to do the effect. So you can choose to use Lay On Hands or Dr Emanuel Ashbel but if you do, No Turning Back has no effect.

Quote:
2.) Does Mark Of Pestilence affect both sets of dudes?


Yes

Quote:
3.) Does Mark Of Pestilence affect boot all dudes or only those involved in the shootout?


Only those involved in the Shootout. Shootout abilities can only ever affect dudes in a posse unless it would bring a dude into the posse.

Quote:
4.) Consecration doesn't have the keyword 'Boot' on it (all the other miracles do). Can it be used more than once per day in different shootouts?


No, you can only ever use an ability once per day unless it has the "Repeat" keyword.

Quote:
5.) Can a dude attach more than one sidekick?


Yes. Dudes are only limited to carrying 1 weapon and 1 horse.

Quote:
6.) If yes to Q5, can they attach multiple copies of the same sidekick or do they all need to be different?


They can attach multiple copies of the same card.

Quote:
7.) In order to allow a Mad Scientist to invent new weapons, can you (as shoppin') attach another weapon to the Mad Scientist to make them discard the Bio-Charged Neutralizer?


Yes. After you have finished making a play, if any of your dudes have more than 1 weapon they must discard down to 1 weapon.

Quote:
8.) Can gunslingers be a) Wanted; b) Discarded; c) Aced; in order to trigger events like Gomorra Jail/Undertakers (I understand that they cannot be aced in terms of permanent removal from the game or enter the actual discard pile)?


Yes (and gunslingers will frequently be wanted if you bounty hunter someone in a private location).

Quote:
9.) If Concealed Weapons has been played by Player A and then, during the shootout, Player B plays unprepared which boots Player A's Shotgun. If Player A plays Missed!, are they then permitted to attach a new weapon to replace the Shotgun and will that weapon be unbooted?


Yes.

Quote:
10.) Do hexs (and other similar cards) get aced if the pull fails (such as Raising Hell)?


No. The only effect of failing a pull is that you don't get to do the action. However, you still pay any costs of attempting the pull so if the Hex/Miracle boots then it is still booted and a Mad Scientist would still be booted if they failed to invent a Gadget.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Dickson
United States
Orlando
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AdmiralGT wrote:
oddeye45 wrote:
1.)On No Turning Back it asks you to ace a dude to do an effect. If you choose someone like The Brute or Harrowed dudes (or if you have a Blessed with Lay On Hands), do they still get aced or are they discarded due to card text? Can they be saved by an ability like Dr Emanuel Ashbel?


The only answer I'm not entirely sure of, I believer if you replace the cost of a card, you no longer get to do the effect. So you can choose to use Lay On Hands or Dr Emanuel Ashbel but if you do, No Turning Back has no effect.


Right, because those cards specify "instead". So they're no longer aced and can't trigger the effect.

However, Harrowed dudes are still being aced; they just react to it differently. So acing Avie Cline would still satisfy the requirements of No Turning Back, even though she goes to your discard pile. That's just how she gets aced.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
soulblight
Canada
Ottawa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DailyRich wrote:
Right, because those cards specify "instead". So they're no longer aced and can't trigger the effect.

However, Harrowed dudes are still being aced; they just react to it differently. So acing Avie Cline would still satisfy the requirements of No Turning Back, even though she goes to your discard pile. That's just how she gets aced.


Exactly, and for those looking for a response from the rules team this was discussed here:
http://www.alderac.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=375&t=114454

Specifically, a player can not use a "React" ability to avoid paying a cost.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mplain
Russia
flag msg tools
mbmb
To clarify, you cannot respond to playing NTB with Lay On Hands or Dr. Ashbel. It's not that doing so will make NTB fizzle, no - you just cannot declare that play at all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mplain
Russia
flag msg tools
mbmb
oddeye45 wrote:
9.) If Concealed Weapons has been played by Player A and then, during the shootout, Player B plays unprepared which boots Player A's Shotgun. If Player A plays Missed!, are they then permitted to attach a new weapon to replace the Shotgun and will that weapon be unbooted?

That's actually a pretty good question. It has been ruled that a dude can use Doyle's Hoyle to replace the pull for Asyncoil Gun, because it's the dude making the pull, even though the gun initiates the ability, and it's the dude acing another dude with the gun, not the gun itself ("guns don't kill people, people with guns do"). So it might be the case that a dude cannot use Shotgun's ability because Unprepared says that "that dude cannot use abilities". Interesting. I'll ask on the rules forum.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mplain
Russia
flag msg tools
mbmb
Got a ruling. Yep, even though you have a brand new unbooted Shotgun, your unprepared dude still cannot use it to ace somebody.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon C
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
AdmiralGT wrote:

Yes. Dudes are only limited to carrying 1 weapon and 1 horse.



Wait. Dudes carry their horses?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.