Subject: Clarification on Stories Campaign for Myth - is there one? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pete R.
United States
Ypsilanti
Michigan
flag msg tools
The grace of Lord Jesus Christ be with you all. Amen.
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello - total newbie to Myth (I just won a retail copy on an auction).

That said, I have read a bunch of reviews and posts and watched a bunch of videos on the game Myth and I'm excited about the mechanics (understanding the flaws as much as I can without having the game).

What I am interested in- and what really intrigued me about some reviews - were the story (and quest) aspects along with the mechanics and free form decision making.

I'm an old RPGer and love the overarching stories that hold together a party of heroes and keeps them coming back. This is what drives my love for board games and RPGs, especially in the fantasy genre. I see a ton of potential with Myth to have some great battles and action - but the detail on the quality and depth of the stories (the reason to come back to the table, IMO), has been kinda vague and disjointed as far as content and how much fun the story campaign is, or even if there is one (described or alluded to)

Without derailing into the flaws of the mechanics and missed opportunities on version 1.0 (and understanding that I have yet to recieve the game and thus I'm asking this question blind), I'm interested in A discussion on the story campaign (is there one?) and the quality of said story and quests (I guess quests are no more?). How would you describe the story mode - is it enough to keep players engaged and coming back for more just from the story on the cards? how does the story mode compare to other similar board games?

If I missed a conversation on this elsewhere, my apologies. Thanks!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Ziegler
United States
Portland
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb