Adam Carter
United States
Eureka
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Greetings,

I had the opportunity to play the first scenario with a buddy a few weeks ago. For the most part, we were able to figure the rules out. However, we did run into some rules questions that would be helpful to have resolved before our next play:

A) In the rules, it says that a defender may make SFF provided that the target is not at a range greater than the closest enemy in LOS. Does a broken unit in a building count towards this rule?

B) We ran into a thematic issue regarding DFF and building LOS. On map Y, we had a defending unit in M4 and an attacker moving from N6 to M6. Based on our reading of the rules, the defender in M4 would be able to make a DFF roll as M6 is within LOS of M4. Is this correct? If so, how does this fit in thematically? In other words, how would the defender be able to "see" the attacker entering the building given that they cannot see N6 and that the soldiers would presumably be smart enough to enter through the back door?

C) Lastly, how does CX affect an FG? If I form an FG with two stacks, one with CX and one without, does the CX modifier apply to the entire group?

Thanks in advance for any answers!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russell D
United Kingdom
Ewell
Surrey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A. Yes

B. There is a +3 TEM for being in the building which protects the unit inside to some extent. If the attacking unit had moved across open ground in the defender's LOS to enter the building, there may have been a chance to shoot with -2 FFNAM and FFMO.

C. Yes.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Carter
United States
Eureka
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Great, thanks a bunch for the clarifications!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Lynott
United Kingdom
Altrincham
Cheshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A) yes

B) think of it as people moving around in the new building catching the defenders eye - they walk past a window, or knock something over making a noise etc

C) the rule is you take the worst DRMs and apply them to the FG, this can mean it's sometimes better to take multiple shots rather than a single FG (plus a large single shot is affected more by a bad single roll)

Cheers, Al.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siege_of_Barcelona_(1713–14)
badge
https://spanishpolice.github.io
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Some rules in ASL may not seem "thematic" at first sight. That may seem confusing as other rules seem to be "100% thematic". Don't worry and play by the rules. After you play it a lot everything clicks in perfectly.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.