Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Saint Petersburg (second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Limit of cards in the hand rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frederic Colard
Belgium
Ath
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
If you have already reached the limit of cards in hand, is it authorized to draw an additonal card and discard one of your hand or you cannot draw any card until you are under the limit?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Monroe
United States
St Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
admin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Angel40k wrote:
If you have already reached the limit of cards in hand, is it authorized to draw an additonal card and discard one of your hand or you cannot draw any card until you are under the limit?


If you are talking about the cards you take now, build later then no.
3 is the max (4 if you have the warehouse). Once you are at your limit, you can not take any more.

There is a card in one of the expansions that does allow you to discard a card you previously took but otherwise you have to build a card to get below your limit before you take another.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Walt
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
Saddleback, covered by a blanket of winter snow
badge
Please contact me about board gaming in Orange County.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
belial1134 wrote:
There is a card in one of the expansions that does allow you to discard a card you previously took but otherwise you have to build a card to get below your limit before you take another.

However, that card, "Away With It" in English, must be taken into your hand in order to use it.

Otherwise, you can not discard a card. You must buy it or get -5 points at game end. Controlling how many cards you have in your hand is a very important part of the game.

Oddly, under 1st edition rules (not sure about 2nd), you can upgrade the Warehouse, the card that lets you have 4 cards in hand, even if you have 4 cards in hand, and you can keep those 4 cards as long as you like. Once you go down to 3 cards, then you can no longer have a fourth card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt D
United States
Peachtree corners
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Angel40k wrote:
If you have already reached the limit of cards in hand, is it authorized to draw an additonal card and discard one of your hand or you cannot draw any card until you are under the limit?


I don't know exactly what you are asking from the term "draw", which I only associate with the observatory (because by most definitions "draw" implies a random selection). That being said, if the observatory is what you are asking about then you CAN use it to "draw" a card, even if at your hand limit. However, you just immediately build the card that you just drew or discard the card that you just drew. It technically never enters your hand unless you elect to have it do so as the third observatory option, which is not available to you if your hand is full.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.