Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Closing/sealing gates rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Bean
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Hey all...

When on a location with a gate that the investigator has explored and placed an explored token... Is it mandatory to attempt to close the gate?

Reason I ask we had a situation where we had two investigators in the abyss.. One on each space of the abyss.. And only one abyss gate open in Arkham. So.. The investigator on space 2 moves back to Arkham and puts an explored token in play. The other investigator moves to abyss space 2. Arkham encounter phase.. The investigator on the explored gate does not want to even attempt gate closure because it runs the risk of the other investigator getting lost in time and space on a subsequent turn.. Hope that is clear!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bagpus wrote:
Hey all...

When on a location with a gate that the investigator has explored and placed an explored token... Is it mandatory to attempt to close the gate?

Reason I ask we had a situation where we had two investigators in the abyss.. One on each space of the abyss.. And only one abyss gate open in Arkham. So.. The investigator on space 2 moves back to Arkham and puts an explored token in play. The other investigator moves to abyss space 2. Arkham encounter phase.. The investigator on the explored gate does not want to even attempt gate closure because it runs the risk of the other investigator getting lost in time and space on a subsequent turn.. Hope that is clear!

Excellent gameplay! Though sometimes sending someone LiTaS can be worked in your favour (think of it as a no-risk shortcut to anywhere on the board).

No, there is no obligation to Seal immediately. That's why you get an Explored Token. There would be no need for it if you Sealed immediately.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.