Smash Up» Forums » General

Subject: Recommended Expansions to buy rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan P
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
Hi BGG Smash-up forum! I'm fairly new to Smash-up. Playing for about a month. Absolutely love this game for its combos and strategy. I bought the Pretty, Awesome level, and Sci-fi expansions. Which other expansions do you guys recommend? If you'd like, pros and cons for each expansion would help immensely. Thank you and happy breaking bases!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Timo Onken
Germany
Varel
Niedersachsen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
First: Welcome to BGG

So there are actually only Cthulhu and Monster Smash left for you to get(and the BGB for the Geeks). If you already have three expansions I don't see any problem in getting the other two (three)
Reviews and recommendations for the expansions are easy to find in the Smash Up Forums ^^
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Liam Jackson
msg tools
Hey Dan!

It sounds like you already have what many consider to be the best expansions.

Monster Smash is a solid one. It introduces a new mechanic (power counters- they give an ongoing +1 power to the minion they are on) which is very straightforward and easy to get into.

1 faction plays regular minions and gives them power counters for additional strength
1 faction's power comes almost exclusively from counters (eg a 0 power minion with 2 counters played on it) and can move the counters around for strategic plays
1 faction destroys weaker minions to gain counters
1 faction doesn't use counters at all

In terms of their power level, 1/4 (Vampires) seem quite weak compared to the Smash Up standard, but the rest are all very competitive!