Ok. I just got the game and am playing with my 16 year old son. This makes little sense for us. Is the no mans land shelling only during the start of the scenario? Also, can units take damage or do you just skip the area if the dice roll hits a unit in a trench. Not much purpose of this in the game except to put out a few shell craters. Am I missing something here and reading the rules wrong?
- you do it only at the beginning of the scenario
- you skip the units, they do not take any damage
- it is not "few shell craters" - it is matter of life and death; craters create places where you can ignore one soldier symbol and one flag - usually the only way to cross no man's land; it is of vital importance in the game