Subject: Is the King's Track 20% too long? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
ArrBeeDee Dial
United States
Lexington Park
Maryland
flag msg tools
I am working on overcoming my AP. Here is my 'to do' plan ...so far: 1).
mbmbmbmbmb
I've had the opportunity to play this a few times now with several player counts and enjoy it greatly BUT

(This isn't one of those cases where everything on front of the 'but' doesn't matter)

We noticed that the game slows down in the last 2-4 tiles and the king is around the halfway mark. I'm not an expert in game theory and mechanics and won't pretend to be BUT... again that word... tightness suffers.

We were discussing ways to change or work around this and I figured 'asking others' couldn't hurt.
Ideas:
1) Change the mechanic so that every meeple that lands 'at the King' moves him. Currently, if you move a pair he only moves one space. This might not be enough - more play is required.

2) Start him closer. 4-Player: 4 steps closer; 3-Player 6 steps; and 2-Player 8 steps closer.

Reducing the game length will supress the decoration buying during the final rounds. Players must decide on tiles or decorations earlier in gathering points.

Other's thoughts?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Horabin
United Kingdom
Hounslow
Middlesex
flag msg tools
badge
Spearmint - A Different Lifetime
mbmbmbmbmb
Of all the suggestions I've read yours seem the most appropriate. Either of you two options will make the difference and I'll certainly give both a go to see which works best.. well done for posting this!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ArrBeeDee Dial
United States
Lexington Park
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for your generosity.

I look forward to hearing your experiences.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Campeau
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
Brazilian Jiu Jitsu brown belt under Bruno Fernandes.
badge
mbmbmbmbmb