Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Wars: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: EVENT cards / Action windows rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
david wood
msg tools

There are times when "ACTION WINDOWS" are open. Please tell me exactly what type of cards can be played during an ACTION WINDOW? Describe in detail - give examples if necessary. Only part of the game that arises questions when I play. Please explain the use of EVENT cards and the times they can be used. Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Nopa
United States
Addison
Texas [TX]
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All event cards have a keyword on them that describes their use. It will be one of 3 things:

Action: Can be played anytime there is an action window.

Reaction: Played in response to an action that was played or used, or a specific timing window.

Interrupt: Stops the current play to immediately resolve its effects.

On a given turn, the active player always has first priority/option of performing an action, then the priority passes to the other player.

If you look at the back of the rulebook, there is a giant chart that shows you when actions can be used. Basically, at the end of every phase there is an action window EXCEPT for the first phase, Balance.

Then, after every phase's main thing has occurred, there is an action window before moving to the next phase.

Deployment and Conflict are exceptions.

Deployment: the active player plays cards from their hand. Each play is considered an action. Thus, there is a window for the other players to play events.

Conflict: There are many open active windows for actions, please see the chart. Basically, after declaring attackers, declaring defenders, after edge battle, and after each character striking.

finally, force phase, committing and checking for balance of the force is done BEFORE the action window comes up. So any "actions" done in this phase have no effect on the force phase. However, there are events that are interrupts or reactions, such at Make Your Own Luck, or Deadly Sight, which can be played at the beginning of the force phase.


Lastly, there are cards that are not events, such as enhancements or units that potentially have their own action, reactions or interrupts.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Love
United States
Clarkston
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What he said... lol
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Walter Haggard
United States
Cleveland
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't quite get how many times an action can be played. Is an event card with and ACTION played once and then discarded? Can an action be used repeatedly every time an action window happens? Is a card exhausted when the action is used?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Nopa
United States
Addison
Texas [TX]
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Event cards are played, then discarded.

Only certain events/actions have limits. For instance, Force Choke is limit 1 per round. (you cannot play 2 force chokes on your turn, you can play one on your turn, then one on your opponent's turn).

Some actions/abilities on characters are also limit once per turn, such as Grand Moff Tarkin from Imperial Entanglements, Grand Admiral Thrawn, or Luke Skywalker. (the limit is included in parentheses after explaining the action)

Lastly, some cards say "Focus this card to... " If you look at the rules, focusing something means that you place a focus token on a ready unit. So, unless you have a way to remove the focus token, you cannot pay the cost to use that ability. Focusing a unit occurs when you place a focus token on a ready unit. (usually, you focus to strike in battle or focus to resolve an ability. Note: this is different then when a focus token is placed on a unit from an event or battle. It is a subtle difference, but when a focus token is placed on your unit from an enemy effect, it does not count as the unit focusing.)

If a card does not say "Focus this card to..." or "Limit 1 per turn..." etc..., then you can play it multiple times.

Some cards say, "While this unit is ready...", which means while it is not focused. So, it all varies.

Basically, some cards have a cost to trigger its ability. If you can pay the cost, then you can trigger the ability as long as it doesn't have a restriction on it.

If you can explain which cards are confusing and which situations are confusing to you, then I can explain it better. But there are specific cards that have specific restrictions, but there is no singular rules that limits all cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.