Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Star Trek: Fleet Captains» Forums » Rules

Subject: Control Influence Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ran Stu
United States
Beaverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Looked at all the rules questions and couldn't find this one.
1. Can you put a control (influence) marker on empty space?
2. Why would you?

I understand about putting control markers through the influence action on habital planets. Thus allowing you to build up to star bases.

But what are the reasons to put control markers on empty space?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are missions and possibly other cards which interact with controlled space.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

randystu5417 wrote:
Looked at all the rules questions and couldn't find this one.
1. Can you put a control (influence) marker on empty space?

It might not be a question asked in the forums here because it's specifically mentioned on page 18 of the rulebook. Look at the paragraph labeled, "1. Exert Influence:", then the last sentence of that paragraph.

While reviewing that rule, it'll also help if you know that locations and location tiles are one in the same. (Reference: Page 22)

And finally, this answer only works if, by "empty space", you mean, "Explored Locations". As you know, to even be able to place a control marker, you (typically) have to be on the location where you're placing. And to be on that location, it had to have been Explored previously.

So getting back to the sentence I referenced above, that sentence is talking about what, I think, you're labeling as empty space.

randystu5417 wrote:
2. Why would you?

Several missions require you to place a certain number of Control Markers, or require you to use Control Markers in other ways.

Remember, Control Markers represent exerting control over part of the galaxy, not only the control of a planet.


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave, or "Phineas" or "Tolstoy" or,
United States
Mount Holly
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bgm1961 wrote:
Remember, Control Markers represent exerting control over part of the galaxy, not only the control of a planet.

Correct. Even if the explored Tile has nothing in it, no Star, no Planet, no Nebula, whatever, you can still leave a Control Marker there.

Basically, you would do that if you have a Mission or Encounter Card that suggests that you should do that for VP. Otherwise, the OP is correct in assuming there seems to be no reason to do that, as you cannot build anything without a Habitable location in the Tile. And so looks silly to "waste" an Action putting a Token there, unless there is another overriding reason.

To sum up, one would do this for the same reason one would do anything in this game or any game: it makes sense at the time!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.