Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Hemloch: Midnight Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Place vs Play vs Move a card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Travis Williams
United States
Manteca
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Play a Minion card: activates the Minion ability and location ability if the Minion faction matches location ability.

*****Place a Minion card: activates nothing(neither location or Minion ability activates. Not sure Please clarify.

Move a Minion: Neither Minion or Location abilities activate.


*****PLEASE CLARIFY RULING ON PLACE A MINION

The way I read it is when you play a MINION CARD IS THE ONLY TIME ANY ABILITIES WILL ACTIVATE.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From what I recall it was play = place for purposes of activating powers. But Moving a minion, as in taking one from the opponent and moving it to your side does not activate the power. John mentioned that in a thread I asked about Move and said that the "moved" minion had already been in play and thus does not activate the powers.

So I think it's just a matter of play and place being used at different times but mean the same thing.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Williams
United States
Manteca
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I was reading your post It was never answered By John.

.

Reading the scepter: Place 1 Minion from your hand on any location. Why not just say play instead of place?

Reading Potion : Play 1 Minion from your hand.

I am not convinced yet.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
j clowdus
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Play" adheres to the rule of only one Minion on your side of a Location per turn.

"Place" does not, which is why place is always followed by "in any location."

Both play and place trigger a Location Ability.

Move, however, does not.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Williams
United States
Manteca
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
OK sound good.

Place and play Triggers both abilities Card and (Location if able).

and Move Triggers no abilities Card or location.

Thank you for the response from both of you.

Great game.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.