Subject: Emperor: Great Wealth Ilya Designed Ruleset rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Finn Cairo
United States
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
mb
Ok, so I'm new to Dune in boardgame form. I went with the Ilya version and am not super interested in world tournament interpretations or anything but what is presented in that particular version of the ruleset. The myriad of rules available is confusing enough as it is! So, based on the Ilya designed ruleset/almanac (Dune_Almanac_2014_v_3.0) what the heck does this paragraph mean?

Great Wealth
You may transfer Spice to or from your allies at any time in the turn and do not have to wait for the Collections Round to do so. This does not allow you to pay part of or all of costs of you allies directly, nor to reduce any costs in some way.

I understand the whole instant transferring of spice before the collection round. That's super. Got it. It's that last sentence which is the mind killer.

Is this saying that I, as the Emperor, can not transfer additional spice to an ally in order to boost a transaction in progress. But, I can transfer spice to an ally before they start paying any costs? And again afterwards if I see fit, so long as spice isn't going towards any immediate costs?

Or is it stating that if an ally has 3 spice to spend on movement, they have 3 spice to spend on movement, period. I could transfer 10,000 spice to them, but they'd still only get to spend 3 spice this turn because otherwise I'd be paying partially or fully for their movement directly.

Am I anywhere near a correct interpretation? This rule is definitely causing me pain by nerve induction. Pass the Gom Jabbar please.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tom tom
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi and welcome to this great game.

It implies the Emperor has to give Spice to his ally, and the ally has to spend it. Whether the ally spends it for the reason why the Emperor gave the Spice is another matter.