Jason Gurd
United States
Greenville
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Not sure what mission we played but at the end to complete we had to meet an initiative roll but none of our characters had any dice to even meet the requirements, in fact only one Rebel character would (not naming to keep from spoiling) have the ability to and without knowing how the mission ends would anyone know.

How do you address that situation?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Gienger
Germany
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Could you use spoiler tags and be more clear inside the spoilers.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul B
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mb
I think you're talking about attribute tests. If that is the case you need to re-read that section in the Rules Reference Guide. If an attribute test of 2 might is required (just making this up) and say you test with the Jedi and get 1 surge, that 1 result stays. You place a strain token by whatever required you to make the test and then the next time the test is made you only require 1 surge to pass regardless of who is making the test.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Gurd
United States
Greenville
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Yes I meant attribute test, the mission calls for x# of surges but no character has enough dice in the listed attribute but one to even have the desired outcome.
It is physically impossible with any combination of dice on any hero but the one to get the needed amount to end the mission and win.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Gienger
Germany
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can accumulate surges over multiple attribute tests.

Let's say the mission needs a strength 3 test, ie 3 surges on a strength roll, then you roll 1 surge on an attempt. To remember that part of the test is done, you put a strain token next to the terminal/door/token to indicate that there's been one success already.

The next roll gives another surge, so you're at 2/3.
The third roll then yields no surge, so it stays at 2/3.
Then the 4th roll yields 2 surges and the test is finally successful (even more than that with 4/3 surges)
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
(like said above) Any successes rolled are banked for the next try of the interact attribute test of the same object, whoever performs the test. See Attribute Tests from the Rules Reference Guide.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As Paul said, reread the Attribute Tests section and also reread his post. You do not need to get that many surges in a single action. You can spend multiple actions to get the needed number. You need to total up to the listed number over all figures that make the test and the accumulated surges from past tests never get reset.

Here's the rule again:

Attribute Tests wrote:
• Each <surge> rolled is a success. If an attribute test lists a number directly before the icon, multiple successes are needed in order to pass the test. If he does not roll the required number of successes, he fails the test but places one strain token near the subject of the test for each success. The next time any figure attempts this test, it discards these strain tokens and applies +1<strain> to his test results for each token discarded.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Gurd
United States
Greenville
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Ok to get my head wrapped around this rule

The mission required 3 surges but of the Heroes we have we only have two dice that allow a max of one surge per side of the two dice.

So if I attempt with my two actions and get 1/3 I put a stress token representing a sucess

Hero 2 makes an attempt and gets 1/3 and puts their stress token

We now have 2 tokens towards the 3 surges needed

Hero 3 comes up and rolls 1/3 surges but can take the two stress to add the other successes to complete the task???
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Practically yes.

By the rules you convert the tokens to successes when you roll the attribute test, then if the test does not succeed (not enough successes), convert the successes back to tokens.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The only thing incorrect is to note that the second hero technically received two successes. One for the surge that was there and one new one from his dice. That hero discards the token at the start of the test, but places two strain tokens after the test. The third received three successes, two from the tokens and one new one of his own, and he completes the test.

This distinction doesn't change anything in this situation, but it could in a situation where a mission rule is interfering with the test to also reduce successes in certain cases.


Also note that if the test in question allow non-heroes to make the test, then Elite Allies can automatically get a success to add to the pool of previous successes if they try the test. Look over the Attribute Tests rules to see why.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.