Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Hapsburg Eclipse» Forums » Rules

Subject: Another Head-Scratching Moment During the Combined Game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
tim woodley
Canada
flag msg tools
mb

I encountered another situation while playing the combined game that
may require some clarification.

The Russians had just been nicely disposed of via the Bolshevik
Revolution, and they wouldn't be returning because I knew that both
Provisional Government cards had been played. But then I realised
something: on the OS side of the game, I still hadn't drawn either the
Brusilov or Hoffman Offensive cards.

What should happen in this instance? Is the event ignored? How do we
go about resolving off-map battles when that theatre has already been
shut down?

Thank you,
Tim.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Capozzi
United States
Andover
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
“Here’s to long life and a merry one. A quick death and an easy one. A pretty girl and an honest one. A cold beer — and another one!”
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's an interesting dilemma, but I think you still have to fight the battles.

The game designer has stated (here, for instance) that mis-ordered events may lead to some things during gameplay that run counter to historical events. But there is nothing in the rules that give the player the discretion to historically "fix" those events. The best you can do is play the deck in its historical order, rather than randomly shuffled.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tim woodley
Canada
flag msg tools
mb

Thank you for the response, Dave.

My first thought was to simply resolve the battle for the sake of
gameplay. But then I thought that maybe the battle can be negated in
the same way that an enemy front will have its advance cancelled if its
either not yet in play or has been removed from play.

Historical order is the best safeguard against this, and some SOS
games I will play only in historical sequence.In many games, including
HE and OS, I prefer the random mix. Maybe playing in random order but
seeding the deck so I can at least ensure that moments like this can be
avoided in the future.

Thank you,
Tim.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Fortuna
msg tools
Hey Tim,

I don't think this situation ever came up in testing, but the possibility was discussed.

If I recall right, the battle is still fought, but the enemy army is assumed to be in the farthest box of their track. Darin can correct me if I am mistaken though.

Hope this helps.

Kevin Fortuna
Game Developer, VPG
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darin Leviloff
United States
Foster City
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Sorry for the delay. Kevin is right. Fight the battle, applying a +1 DRM for the Front being behind the specified site. Think of this as spill-over from the Russian Civil War or the like.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.