Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Shifting Sands» Forums » Rules

Subject: Placing move/attack markers with regular event cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Haley
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There are quite a few regular cards (not the dual-purpose event/ops cards) whose events include the instruction to place a certain number of move/attack markers in supplied spaces on one of the maps. "Poor Morale" is an example for the Allies. If played for ops, the Allies may activate 4 points worth of spaces; when played as an event the Allied player may place 2 move/attack markers on the board. If the card cannot be played for both the event and for ops, what is the purpose of placing the move/attack markers if you choose the play the event?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Rinella
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Play for OPS you get 4 OPS points but not the event. You are also required to follow the supply rules so if Allied units are in Limited Supply the OPS can be used up quickly.

Play for the event you get to place two markers (only) but you get the event. This could be worth as much or more than 4 OPS depending on where the Allied markers are placed. If there were two spaces in Limited Supply with three units in each stack placing the two markers is the equivalent of 6 OPS - quite powerful.

In a word: "momentum." It may make sense in a WWI setting to have nothing but "either/or" options but not in a WWII setting. It also permits the Allies to strike immediately. Allowing the Axis can react to the knowledge of diminished morale before being attacked is counter-intuitive. The Italians did not know their troop morale was so pitiful until they were actually attacked in force.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Haley
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, so the player gets the event and gets to activate spaces for ops. That's what I thought might be the case, but I found it confusing that Poor Morale - and quite a few other cards whose events include placing activation markers - have circles around the ops numbers and not squares. The rules state that a square denotes that the "card may be played as event and OPs simultaneously," while a circle indicates that it "may not be played as event and ops simultaneously." From what you are saying, the player receives the benefit of the event as well as the opportunity to activate spaces for ops during the round, but that is not considered playing the card as an event and ops simultaneously.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
jjcomet wrote:
From what you are saying, the player receives the benefit of the event as well as the opportunity to activate spaces for ops during the round, but that is not considered playing the card as an event and ops simultaneously.


No, that is not what he is saying at all.

He is saying that by playing the event, you get to place two activation markers regardless of the actual cost of activating those spaces.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Rinella
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Normally, in a Limited Supply situation where the player wishes to place a combat marker they must spend one OPS point per unit in the space. A single space with three units in Limited Supply would require 3 OPS to place a combat marker on.

But with certain cards they may ignore this and simply place a combat marker in a space no matter how many units are there. In the case of Poor Morale the Allied player could place a combat marker into two Limited Supply spaces with three units in each. Ordinarily this is beyond the power of any card played solely for OPS because there are no 6 OPS cards. But with certain events, which represent hoarded supplies being burned up rapidly to conduct an offensive, attacks that normally wouldn't be possible become possible.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.