Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

D-Day at Tarawa» Forums » Rules

Subject: Some questions about Tank actions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paolo D'Ulisse
Italy
ROMA
Italy
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Default action - Advance: "... if two or more eligible positions are equidistant from a US unit...": does it mean that the position to move the tank has to be:
- no more than four hexes from the tank and
- closer to the nearest US unit and
- the most possibile close to that US unit (even if that means that the tank will move many more hexes than necessary to get not only closer but as closest as possible to that unit...)

Action (A): "... if the tank unit is unable to advance...":
- When a tank unit is unable to advance? If it is already as closest as possibile to the nearest US unit?
- If the tank unit already has a US unit in its field of fire, will it advance or fire with action (A)?

The same for (P) action: when is it not possibile for a tank unit to move?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Åkerlund
Sweden
Vallentuna
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb

A bit odd that noone has replied to these questions before, but here we go:


1. If a Japanese tank (with no U.S. units in its FOF) can get closer to a U.S. unit by advancing to a new position within four hexes, it will do so, as long as it fulfills the listed requirements.

For example, if the Japanese tank has to move four hexes to get adjacent to a U.S. unit it will do so rather than to move a shorter distance to get within 2+ hexes of a U.S. unit.


2. A tank is unable to advance if doesn't fulfill the requirements for the default action advance described in the second bullet.

That is:

- if there aren't any positions within four hexes that are unoccupied or occupied by a Japanese non-tank unit,

- if by advancing it wouldn't be moving closer to a U.S. unit.

- if by advancing it would become out of communication.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.