Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Sergeants Miniatures Game: Red Devils» Forums » Rules

Subject: Self Rally rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Glenn Smith

Maryland
msg tools
I saw on the Day of Days forum somewhere the following from a few years ago:

Q: Can a soldier self rally?
A: Yes he can. A rally 2 or above soldier can rally himself.

Is this still correct? Where is that in the manual?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't have the manual with me, but yes, a soldier can self rally.

The reason that the soldier needs a Rally 2 or greater is because if he's pinned (and the only reason to self rally) is that his stats are halved. So while pinned his Rally will only be 1.

Also, a pinned soldier must rally himself before rallying another soldier. So you can't have a pinned soldier with a Rally that was halved down to 1, Rally another soldier. He must Rally himself first, then if his original Rally before being pinned was 2 or greater, then he can rally others normally. So after rallying himself, if his normal Rally is 2, then he would have 1 more soldier he could rally. If his normal Rally was 3 (which would be halved and rounded down to 1 when pinned) then he'd be able to rally 2 other soldiers etc.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Smith

Maryland
msg tools
Greg, again - GREAT response.

This is kind of important, I wish this was in the manual.

Thanks, Glenn
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Gallo
United States
O'Fallon
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Balto1 wrote:
Greg, again - GREAT response.

This is kind of important, I wish this was in the manual.

Thanks, Glenn
The problem seems to be that it IS in the manual, just not spelled out with a single sentence. I think it would have helped clarify Rally a LOT to have it spelled out as it feeds in to how the design incorporates all sort of little details. Same goes for lots of the concepts in the game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.