James Moore
United States
Waynesville
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, here is the situation I encountered on U.2501's second patrol last night:

A convoy I attacked ended up with 1 freighter sunk, one escaped, and one damaged. The escort was also damaged. I elected to follow the two damaged ships.
However, since one was an escort, what do you do about the die roll for determining whether damaged ships are escorted or not? Do you put the damaged escort into one of the damage tracks along with the merchants, and roll for another escort, or do nothing?
I decided not to roll since an escort was already present (although damaged), and could still attack me. The rules say nothing about this, so could use a clarification.

Second question. Acoustic torpedoes appear to have no advantage? Acoustics have "always hit" rolls of 5, 6, and 7 for the three types. At short range an 8 or less hits with any model torpedo, so why use an acoustic at all?
At medium range a 7 will hit with any model torp, so again the acoustic has no perceived effect.
At long range a 6 is needed to hit with standard torps. Here the Zaunkonig II will hit on a 7, so there is a slight advantage to firing these from long range.
Being that these are homing torpedoes, shouldn't there be some kind of favorable DRM when using them? For example, maybe a -1, -2, or -3, depending on type?

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Smith
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Heya,

Acoustics count as electrics. Electrics are +1 at medium and +2 at long. I did change the rules a bit, in so much that their to hit number can be higher than a 5,6,7 depending on type, but can never be LOWER than that. This clarified the situation where firing them from point blank at an unescorted target gives them a "9" to hit number, instead of a 5,6,7 (depending on type) if you see the point.

At long range, an electric is a "4" to hit. The acoustics are a 5, 6, or 7. I'd say that's an advantage. Not to mention if you spin and fire them from the aft (OK, mebbe not in a Type XXI...but in a diff. boat) the penalty of +1 to hit is essentially ignored in that case as well.

Finally, to your first point, the damaged escort is now a target on the combat mat, just like the other damaged merchant. At this stage of the war, a damaged escort would still be "escorted" by another escort on a roll of 1-5. If you roll a six, it's unescorted, however, you cannot deck gun it obviously - but it doesn't attack back. You'd have to fire torps at it. So, essentially, it would be like the Auxillary ships in Silent Victory - despite the fact he is an escort, he's damaged. You can torpedo him with impunity but can't use the deck gun.

Great point though....I need to clean all that up in the rules. thanks.

Greg
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Moore
United States
Waynesville
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, I did not see the part about standard electrics only hitting at 4 or less at long range. And so, at short range acoustics can hit on higher than an 8, depending on type?
I must be missing something, can you please elaborate on that? Also, thanks for clearing up the damaged escort issue. The rules only say the escort operates at -1 to detect after being damaged. I took that to mean that the damaged escort could still attack, but with a penalty..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Smith
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
capn_tucker wrote:
Ok, I did not see the part about standard electrics only hitting at 4 or less at long range. And so, at short range acoustics can hit on higher than an 8, depending on type?
I must be missing something, can you please elaborate on that? Also, thanks for clearing up the damaged escort issue. The rules only say the escort operates at -1 to detect after being damaged. I took that to mean that the damaged escort could still attack, but with a penalty..


Heya,
At short range, surface attack against an unescorted target, all torpedoes hit on a "9". That's what I meant. Or, submerged from close, you'd be hitting on an "8". I just wanted to clarify the acoustics so that people didn't think that at close range, the "to hit" number would only be a 5,6, or 7.


Greg

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Moore
United States
Waynesville
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sturmer wrote:
capn_tucker wrote:
Ok, I did not see the part about standard electrics only hitting at 4 or less at long range. And so, at short range acoustics can hit on higher than an 8, depending on type?
I must be missing something, can you please elaborate on that? Also, thanks for clearing up the damaged escort issue. The rules only say the escort operates at -1 to detect after being damaged. I took that to mean that the damaged escort could still attack, but with a penalty..


Heya,
At short range, surface attack against an unescorted target, all torpedoes hit on a "9". That's what I meant. Or, submerged from close, you'd be hitting on an "8". I just wanted to clarify the acoustics so that people didn't think that at close range, the "to hit" number would only be a 5,6, or 7.


Greg



OK, got it; the only bonus to acoustics is at medium or long range. Surfaced attacks sure as hell ain't gonna happen this late in the war, so that bonus gets waved a fond goodbye.
I'll be looking forward to using the Nibelung once it gets the greenlight. That will make acoustics even more attractive to use. I can live with the +1 to detection, especially if the escort is already on its way to the Locker.. devil
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.