Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Conquest of Speros» Forums » Rules

Subject: How to place units on Artifacts? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Wilcoxon
United States
Edina
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
We were going through the rules on our first game and noticed something odd. There doesn't appear to be any way to actually place units on an artifact (outside of Reinforce). The Attack and Lead actions let you place units on encampments on Locations (but an Artifact is not a Location). Should Attack and Lead be to any encampment in the Skirmish area (not just on a Location) or is there some other way that we're missing or is Reinforce the only way to place a unit on an Artifact?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
aaron belmer
United States
Webster Groves
St Louis
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You may place units on an artifact with the attack and lead actions just like you would any other location.

thanks for the question!!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Wilcoxon
United States
Edina
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
That was my first thought but the rulebook says otherwise. Both Attack and Lead specify "Location" (with the capital). Under Ancient Artifacts, it says "If an ability specifically targets a Location it may not target an Artifact".

If the intent is to be able to use Attack and Lead actions to place units on artifacts, the rulebook really needs some changes/clarifications.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Wright
United States
Solon
Iowa
flag msg tools
mb
Actually the rulebook seems pretty clear to me.
"Treat Ancient Artifacts as Locations in every way, with the following exceptions:" (p9)
One of the exceptions is indeed
"If an ability specifically targets a Location it may not target an artifact."
Attack and Lead are *not* abilities, they are actions.
Abilities trigger in the Ability Step, and are specifically "The text instructions on a card." (glossary p10)
Attack and Lead resolve in the Action Step since they are actions.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.