Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Madeira» Forums » Rules

Subject: Two points for clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
M Jarvin
United States
Clearwater
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Kings Reward that allows you to place workers in the city or the watch says to do so "by the usual rules", so we would need workers in those regions to be able to do so, correct?

And my understanding is that each player may only have one worker per field, with separate regions being the only difference during initial placement. Is this also correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew J
United States
Royal Oak
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"By the usual rules" means that if you use the King's Reward to move a worker into the watch (from your home supply or from elsewhere on the board), you get the reduction in pirates that normally accompanies moving a worker into the watch. With the King's Reward that allows you to move a worker to the city, you get 1 PP (as noted on the Reward itself), and then you can move a worker into the city (from your home supply, or from elsewhere on the board, even from another space already in the cities--you just can't move a worker out of the watch since they can only leave the watch by being retired, being used to claim a pirate die, or with the use of the Scout).

Yes, one worker per field, but the restriction on different regions (and different fields from other players) is only for initial placement.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M Jarvin
United States
Clearwater
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Understood, the buildings are the only places that require workers in the region and the rewards allow for the actions separate from that, much like the turn order.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew J
United States
Royal Oak
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah yes, this last point makes your initial question clearer. You are correct, when you use the King's Reward is not dependent on whether you have workers in the regions that would allow you to get a similar action if you were using the respective buildings in Phase C. The King's Reward is not influenced by those things.

Similarly, when you get one of the bonuses for selecting turn order at the end of Phase B (one of which is placing a person in the City Watch or taking one prestige point and placing a worker in the City), those are also not dependent on workers in the region. You get the bonus regardless, just like with the King's Reward.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.