GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,766 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
22 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Enemy Action: Ardennes» Forums » Rules

Subject: GS : Assigning hits to allied defenders rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mendel Lius
France
Paris
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,

I have troubles understanding rule 13.52 on assigning hits and retreats.

More precisely, I do not understand how the "C" priority works, mostly in light of the example below : the 2-two steps unit has one hit to satisfy. If it loses that step, it will loose its ZOC. So it should retreat, and not go to D? I must be wrong somewhere...

Thanks!
Mendelius
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kurt R
United States
Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
All life is only a set of pictures in the brain, among which there is no difference betwixt those born of real things and those born of inward dreamings, and no cause to value the one above the other.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mendelius wrote:
Hi all,

I have troubles understanding rule 13.52 on assigning hits and retreats.

More precisely, I do not understand how the "C" priority works, mostly in light of the example below : the 2-two steps unit has one hit to satisfy. If it loses that step, it will loose its ZOC. So it should retreat, and not go to D? I must be wrong somewhere...

Thanks!
Mendelius

Yes, you got it. Here are some examples:

a) 2-step unit with two hits to satisfy: retreat

b) 2-step unit with one hit to satisfy (and would lose ZOC): retreat.

c) 2-step unit with one hit to satisfy (and would not lose ZOC): got to step D.

Are you using the player aid? Might want to consult the text in the book for a bit more verbiage.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mendel Lius
France
Paris
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!

So I was not that wrong. In fact I was referring to the example in the rulebook, which is not clear to me. So it is the rulebook I have difficulties with.

As all (as far as I know) 1-step units exert no ZOC, c) only applies in two cases :
- the unit is part of a stack with units that still have more steps
- the retreat hex is a city
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The way I interpreted priority C is to look at the stack and how it exerts a ZOC. That seems to be incorrect.

My new understanding is that if a step loss to a stack will cause one of those units to lose its ZOC then the stack retreats. Is that right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Butterfield
United States
Fremont
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
A unit with a bracketed combat strength exerts a zone of control when in a town or city, or when stacked with any other units. Therefore a two step unit in any of these situations is not subject to priority C.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah. Didn't catch the intention of the language. Stacks don't exert ZOC's. Of course.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kurt R
United States
Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
All life is only a set of pictures in the brain, among which there is no difference betwixt those born of real things and those born of inward dreamings, and no cause to value the one above the other.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great, this is consistent with what was said here, that is, stack takes priority over unit in step C:

https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1405107/gs-assigning-hi...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Forgot about that thread.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mendel Lius
France
Paris
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Me too! Thanks everyone!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.