Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Crown of Roses» Forums » Rules

Subject: Surprise Card usage as a Command Card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Turpin
United Kingdom
Bar Hill
Cambs
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
13.2 states that a surprise card must be played for OP's. However 10.4.4 as per the example, clearly shows that it can be played as an event. This seems to be a contradiction. Can someone clarify this. Thanks in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guillaume Cusson
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As I understand it, a "Surprise card" can be played as an event during the describe situation (and you can draw a replacement card), but on your turn during your Action Step it can only be played for it OPs value.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Turpin
United Kingdom
Bar Hill
Cambs
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What is the describe situation?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guillaume Cusson
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I mean by "describe situation" the requirement written on the card.

For example : #67 "Rally of the Standard" it is clearly mentionned: " Play at the start of any Combat Round."

Or : #74 "Avoid Battle" you can read "Play when one of your stacks is intercepted."

But for Surprise cards without any specific mention, (for exemple #70 : England! for the English!) I believe you can play it at any time during another player action step.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen A. Cuyler
United States
Rochester
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
13.2 refers specifically to the card being a Command Card and not used in some other way (Surprise cards are generally played during other parts of the turn). If the Card used as the Command Card was a Surprise card it can not be played as the event listed on the card and you do not draw a replacement card. A Surprise card that is not played as a Command Card is played for it's listed event at some other point in the turn. Normal action cards (other than Surprise or Mandatory cards) may be played as either the event or for their ops during the Command Step. (Mandatory must be played as the event and specifically not for the ops, effectively the opposite of the Surprise card in that use).

-SAC
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Turpin
United Kingdom
Bar Hill
Cambs
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarification on the use of Surprise Cards.

As for mandatory cards, 14.1 states the following;

"Similar to regular events that grant OPS, implement the event text first, then utilize the listed OPS points."

So by placing a mandatory card both the Event (first) and OPS (second) are performed as a command card. Is this correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen A. Cuyler
United States
Rochester
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Each of the mandatory cards includes the phrase "after resolution you gain X OPS", you gain the OPS from the as part of the resolution of the event.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.