Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
17 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: Adding damage to blasts? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
sven van hoye
Belgium
sint-niklaas
flag msg tools
Hi all,

When using an ability which creates a blast, if one has a surge or another ability which adds damage, does it also stack on the blast itself?

Example: Havok shot adds a blast of 1 damage to the attack.
If Fenn rolls a surge for +1 damage or had another ability to add damage, does the blast get 2 damage then?


grts
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, blast is separate from the attack. It deals the damage listed by the blast ability (i.e. Blast 1 {damage} deals 1 damage, Blast 2 {damage} deals 2 damage, etc). No other bonuses from the attack are granted, and the figures affected from the blast do not get defense rolls, they just take the damage.

-shnar
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Nopa
United States
Addison
Texas [TX]
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope. Blast is a special type of damage all its own. The only way to increase blast damage is with more blast damage. For instance, Rebel Saboteurs that can trigger their blast multiple times.

Regular damage modifiers apply to your original line of sight target.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Gienger
Germany
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lupercallius wrote:
Hi all,

When using an ability which creates a blast, if one has a surge or another ability which adds damage, does it also stack on the blast itself?

Example: Havok shot adds a blast of 1 damage to the attack.
If Fenn rolls a surge for +1 damage or had another ability to add damage, does the blast get 2 damage then?


grts


Short: no.

You add the +damage to the attack. Blast is separate and can't be enhaced by other effects that enhance the attack. (There are skills that enhance the blast of Fenn's skill)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
sven van hoye
Belgium
sint-niklaas
flag msg tools
Aha, thanks for the quick replies all

@Locu : what skills can enhance the blast damage?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fenn's Rebel Elite makes Havoc Shot Blast 2mb.

Also, see the reference cards for Blast and Cleave. They are indeed triggered during attacks, but performed after the attack resolves. They can also only happen if the attack deals damage.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oleg Slovesny
Ukraine
Kiev
flag msg tools
mb
Does that mean that, if Fenn uses Suppressive fire after his Havoc shot, each figure damaged by blast will also receive 1 additional damage or Stunned condition?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Suppressive Fire and Blast are both triggered after the attack resolves. They are both abilities triggered by a rebel player, so he decides in which order they trigger resolve. (See Timing, page 2 of RRG.) Obviously it is better to trigger Blast from Havoc Shot first. (And otherwise why would it say Each figure, when there can be only one attack target.)

Also see the Arc Blasters imperial Class card. (Which produces a similar situation where the Imperial player triggers both effects. Arc Blasters provide both Blast and an ability to potentially stun.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oleg Slovesny
Ukraine
Kiev
flag msg tools
mb
Great, that clears things up. Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jared Trisciuzzi
United States
Riverside
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't forget that even though you can't boost the damage of blast or cleave your opponent doesn't have to opportunity to block their damage either.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Waspinator
United States
St Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right, if there are two targets next to each other and one has much better armor, shoot the less-armored one and use your blast ability to hurt the other one.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TheWaspinator wrote:
Right, if there are two targets next to each other and one has much better armor, shoot the less-armored one and use your blast ability to hurt the other one.

Technically more armor (in game terms) means more health, so shooting less-armored just means some of your damage output goes to waste. You meant to shoot at the figure with the black defense die instead of the one with the white if you have a choice.

Chipping away with Blast takes a really long time with the high-health figures, it's mainly a solution with regular Stormtroopers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Waspinator
United States
St Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, armor is an upgrade type.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, Laminate Armor and Combat Coat armors are Item Cards. whistle

armor is a trait.

But that's enough trivia that we both agree on.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Liu
United States
Irvine
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
a1bert wrote:
Suppressive Fire and Blast are both triggered after the attack resolves. They are both abilities triggered by a rebel player, so he decides in which order they trigger resolve. (See Timing, page 2 of RRG.) Obviously it is better to trigger Blast from Havoc Shot first. (And otherwise why would it say Each figure, when there can be only one attack target.)

Also see the Arc Blasters imperial Class card. (Which produces a similar situation where the Imperial player triggers both effects. Arc Blasters provide both Blast and an ability to potentially stun.)


Does the target of the attack (not affected by the blast of havoc shot) also take the +1 Damage/Stun from Suppressive fire when it is used? or would it only affect the units that took blast damage
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Note that it references the attack that had Havoc Shot triggered. This covers both the attack and the Blast damage.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The target is affected, because by definition the target suffered 1 or more damage for the Blast to do any damage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.