Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Fulghum
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mb
Question to all. I am thinking about doing a RAF campaign and AAR and as part of the AAR, I want to do a bit of a narrative similar to the RAF Campaign Diaries entries
< http://www.raf.mod.uk/history/campaign_diaries.cfm >.

To do this, I needed to model aircraft losses based on the game results. I will give you a group of assumptions and then the results as I see them and I want to know what you all think of these.

Assumptions:
Just a bit of background, I was an aircraft technician for the US Air Force for 20 years and basing some of these assumptions on my own experiences.

Squadron and Gruppen counters: While the counters represent actual RAF squadrons and German Gruppen, it does not mean the all of the serviceable aircraft are on a particular sortie. The game mentions that each RAF Squadron has 10 to 15 operational fighters and German Gruppen have 25 to 30 aircraft each. But it is not uncommon for a unit to have a couple of spare aircraft available not assigned to a mission in case of possible maintenance issues found during pre-flight or during launch operations. So for the purposes of this narrative, each counter represents elements of a Squadron or Gruppen, not the entire operational strength on every raid. Not to mention that as the day goes on, unserviceable aircraft will become operational due to the efforts of the ground crews.