GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,636 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
19 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
30 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition)» Forums » General

Subject: TI3 and Randomness rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joseph Schmoll
United States
Raleigh
NC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi everyone,

So I just introduced this game to two of my friends (and gamers) that were curious about playing it. Now I've only played the game 1 full time before myself, so I'm no expert, but I know it well enough.

We treated it primarily as a learning game and progressed through (base game only, using Age of Empire variant and Imperial II instead of base game Imperial) and ultimately one of my friends was doing extremely well, scoring lots of points building a solid empire.

I ended up grabbing Rex and holding it for the rest of the game, and was able to keep getting Imperial II and when both teamed up to invade and take me out, I ended up defending successfully.

I'm a huge fan of this game and it intrigues me. Our overall game time only took a little more than 4 hours (which was impressive for a first game), but both left the game telling me that they thought it was okay, but it was too random given their luck with the dice.

I'm wondering, what are your thoughts on this? I know this game has a huge following...is it too random? Are there ways to minimize that "problem" that we may be unaware of since we're new? I personally don't agree totally with them, but am curious to hear more experienced opinions.

Thanks everyone!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ruud
Netherlands
Amsterdam
Noord - Holland
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
the more ships you have the more dice you roll.. the less luck plays a role.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Schmoll
United States
Raleigh
NC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb