Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

War Stories: Liberty Road» Forums » Rules

Subject: Crest terrain shift rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Am I understanding correctly that a vehicle/infantry firing on a vehicle where they both are on a crest results in one upshift? Shouldn't crest upshifts only benefit units firing on lower elevations?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dirk Knemeyer
United States
Arlington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you are correct: a crest should only be of benefit when firing down at lower elevation. We will need to clarify this in the new rules.

aram12 wrote:
Am I understanding correctly that a vehicle/infantry firing on a vehicle where they both are on a crest results in one upshift? Shouldn't crest upshifts only benefit units firing on lower elevations?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh wow. I thought for sure I was wrong about that, as I didn't see it in the forums.

So as far as terrain shifts, we can say upshifts only benefit the firer when the target hex is at a lower elevation and downshifts only benefit infantry?

Edit:

I just realized I might have found another correction that's needed in the most recent 1.1 rules. Do crops bocage and forests provide cover to vehicles? The terrain descriptions certainly suggest this. Aren't infantry the sole beneficiaries of cover?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dirk Knemeyer
United States
Arlington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, that is true.


aram12 wrote:
Oh wow. I thought for sure I was wrong about that, as I didn't see it in the forums.

So as far as terrain shifts, we can say upshifts only benefit the firer when the target hex is at a lower elevation and downshifts only benefit infantry?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ethan McKinney
United States
El Segundo
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
What is true?

A) Crops, bocage, and forests provide cover to vehicles.

B) Only infantry benefit from cover.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is my fault...I edited my post AFTER Dirk responded. His answer was definitely before my edit.

My edit still stands as a question of rules clarity in 1.1.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
elbmc1969 wrote:
What is true?

A) Crops, bocage, and forests provide cover to vehicles.

B) Only infantry benefit from cover.


B.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, all!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.