Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

DC Comics Deck-Building Game: Crisis Expansion Pack 1» Forums » Rules

Subject: Power of the Red rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Tackett
msg tools
I'm just looking for some clarification on this card.

-Power of the Red-
"Discard any number of cards, and then draw that many cards."

You can discard from any stage (hand or play)?
If played you retain benefit of discarded cards?
Can the card itself be included in the discard process and therefore add to the draw amount?


It became very powerful in someones hand tonight. He had managed to gather all three fairly early which caused him to rotate through his deck extremely fast with some pretty crazy power numbers. We felt we were playing it correctly except for if it's text was able to include itself or not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hans Moleman
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
I was saying boo-urns
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm fairly certain that cards in play stay put unless directly noted by a card.

So it sounds like you were playing it incorrectly as Discarding must be directly from your hand and NOT the cards already in play.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathaniel Yamaguchi
msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jkrman wrote:
You can discard from any stage (hand or play)?
If played you retain benefit of discarded cards?


Unless stated otherwise, when you are instructed to discard a card, it's only from your hand.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Tackett
msg tools
Ah, ok then! That definitely explains why they suddenly became SO powerful. We were unaware that "discard" specifically means from hand and not simply the action of discarding.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Brady
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Jkrman wrote:
Ah, ok then! That definitely explains why they suddenly became SO powerful. We were unaware that "discard" specifically means from hand and not simply the action of discarding.


It also doesn't include itself, you have to play Power of the Red and then immediately discard a number of cards from your hand to draw equal to that number of cards.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benj Davis
Australia
Summer Hill
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RichBrady wrote:
Jkrman wrote:
Ah, ok then! That definitely explains why they suddenly became SO powerful. We were unaware that "discard" specifically means from hand and not simply the action of discarding.


It also doesn't include itself, you have to play Power of the Red and then immediately discard a number of cards from your hand to draw equal to that number of cards.


Yes, so you can still cycle past a bunch of lame cards, but you're still down a card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.