Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Fire in the Lake» Forums » Rules

Subject: ARVN Redeploy rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lawrence Hung
Hong Kong
Wan Chai
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
6.4.2 ARVN Redeploy. The ARVN must move its Troops from
LoCs and Provinces without COIN Bases—and may move any
other ARVN Troops—to any Cities without NVA Control, any US
or ARVN Bases, or Saigon.


Hi, as a non-native English speaker, I am not quite sure if I should take that "without" to the spaces that follows the commas as stated. Can the ARVN redeploy troops from spaces without COIN Bases to any spaces without US or ARVN Bases? Can ARVN redeploy them to Saigon?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grayson
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
"Goes to show, you don't ever know, Watch each card you play and play it slow..."
badge
Fox by Kyle Ferrin for the game Root (gif by BeckyTokens)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I find it easier to do it as a 2 step process:

1) Figure out what ARVN troops are not in a city or a place with a COIN base. (so, provinces where you don't have a base, LoCs). All these dudes have to vacate their current location and move to a city or place with a COIN base. Do that first.

2) Now, any troops you have left on the board (which are all at cities, or provinces where there is a COIN base courtesy of step 1) may move around to any cities which the NVA don't control (you don't have to have control them, but the NVA can't), any place with COIN bases, or Saigon (regardless of whether you control it, nobody controls it, or the NVA control it, you can always go to Saigon).

I can't remember if you can place a COIN base on an LoC, but I can't think of a reason why I'd want to, so it's easier for me to visualize it as "am I in a province without a COIN base or on an LoC? If yes, move the yellow cubes."

edit: clarification.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P. Fowler
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
We provide...
badge
The rich and powerful take what they want. We steal it back for you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The "any"s are separators. To bulletize it for you:

ARVN must move:
- ARVN Troops on LoCs
- ARVN Troops in Provinces (not Cities) without COIN Bases

ARVN may move:
- Other ARVN Troops not listed

Acceptable destinations include:
- Cities without NVA Control
- Any COIN Bases
- Saigon
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
143245 wrote:
I can't remember if you can place a COIN base on an LoC

No, you can't (1.4.2).

/Oerjan
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Sherlock
United States
Anaheim Hills
California
flag msg tools
badge
Admin @ www.cigargeeks.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, remember not to change the CONTROL status of provinces until after deploy segment is completely done (on Vassal mark the provinces that were in COIN control with a pawn), as you can still move police into those provinces during their deploy step.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P. Fowler
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
We provide...
badge
The rich and powerful take what they want. We steal it back for you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jackalope wrote:
(on Vassal mark the provinces that were in COIN control with a pawn)

There is a "Control Snapshot" button in the module that sets temporary markers over the Control spaces. The markers disappear when you click the "Reset" button.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.