Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Innovation» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dogma-Effect rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Markus Benz
Germany
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Folk,

When a demand-dogma says (for instance City States)"transfer a top card from your board to my board. If you do, draw a 1"......

Who is addressed by you and may draw a 1? My opponent or me?

Greetings bpsyc
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Sanchez
United States
chaska
MN
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
By my understanding your opponent draws a 1 as compensation for you taking their card.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian B.
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
char(filter(1,[1 -1],[66 5 0 -39 82 -3 -12 8 8 -82]))
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Whoever actually did the transfer, namely your opponent. For cards like this, it often helps to read the card out loud to your opponent.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Goddard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I recall the instructions say to read the text out loud and action it. When I do this something always clicks in my brain and the actions make sense who the relative parties are that it is referring to.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus Benz
Germany
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi folk,

very quick answers! Thank you. bpsyc
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Brendel
United States
Dunwoody
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think it's worth mentioning that some cards have both demand and non-demand dogmas, and the above holds true only for the demands. For example...

Refrigeration wrote:
mb: I demand you return half (rounded down) of the cards in your hand!

mb: You may score a card from your hand.


In the first effect, "you" is any player subject to the demand. In the second effect, "you" is literally you, as well as any player eligible to share.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Li Walton
United States
Cleveland Heights
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A more general question about dogma: can you execute a particular dogma more than once? I'm having trouble finding the answer to that.
Thanks in advance!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You activate cards, then perform the dogmas it contains, but yes, you can activate the same card with both of your actions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Li Walton
United States
Cleveland Heights
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for your prompt response. Actually, my question pertains to a card which has been melded and dogma executed in one turn. On my next turn, can I execute that same dogma again? If I like the effects of one card, can I execute its dogma over and over?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can activate any active (top) card you like for your action.

You can activate the same card as long as it is an active card.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Li Walton
United States
Cleveland Heights
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.