GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,364 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
14 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Atlantic Wall: D-Day to Falaise» Forums » Rules

Subject: Triggering GI - hexes or MPs? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bobby Bryant
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The rule says hexes (20.3.0), but the example says MPs (20.3.1 example).

Also, the rule says "more than", whereas the example implies immediately upon the sixth.

The example isn't in the older games' rules. Does it reflect newer thought, or is it just an error?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Youst
United States
Emeryville
California
flag msg tools
designer
The Ground Interdiction mechanism is triggered by MPs. The trigger occurs after you spend more than the listed value. This was a rule change exc for AWall, as the game is so big, I didn't want opposing players to have to hover over the map for long periods of time while the German player moved his units.

Example: The GI value over part of the map is 5. The german player is moving a panzer unit along a road in strategic mode (not good). He has moved along a primary road at the rate of one-half point per hex (road movement). After going ten hexes (5MPs expended) he wishes to continue moving, using the same road rate. As soon as he enters the next hex and expending his MP to an amount of five and a half pts, the GI mission must be accounted for. Let's say the mission is a miss; the German player may continue moving the unit without risk for another 5MPs. If he attempts to exceed 10 MPs, he'll have to undergo another GI mission. Hope this helps.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bobby Bryant
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Ah, I was looking at the GOSS rules, and didn't think to consult the AW exclusive rules.

Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.