Apocalypse Chaos» Forums » Reviews

Subject: A Descriptive Review rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Seth
msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I've never written a review on here before, but Apocalypse Chaos was my one Gen Con purchase that was a low-flier - that is to say, not having a lot of buzz. I've only played two games of it with the right rules (the Z-Man volunteer who taught my demo had several important things wrong). So I'm not going to try to give it any kind of rating, but just describe as accurately as I can how the system and some strategic choices work.

Mechanisms
Apocalypse Chaos is a cooperative dice placement game. Each player has a hero, and each hero's playmat is somewhat unique. They all have the same places you can slot dice - initiative, movement, melee attack, ranged attack, defense, a unique special ability and a sort of dumping ground for a weak area attack.

Unlike many other cooperative dice games, there is no rerolling of your dice. Instead, you trade your dice between players; you start with 5 dice, and you can give away as many as two dice (to different players if you like) and can receive as many as two dice. This does mean that the more players you have, the more likely you are to be able to find (closer to) optimal turns for each hero.