Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

For the People» Forums » Rules

Subject: Detached Cavalry Card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Rees
United Kingdom
Liss Forest
Hampshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is the Detached Cavalry card the equivalent of a battle card? i.e. you can play it as an extra card as the battle begins, in a similiar way to Union Siege Guns card. What is confusing me is that the Union Siege Guns card explicitly states it is a battle card, while detached Cavalry card just says 'Played prior to a battle against an enemy with...'.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Hill
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Adam,

I do believe it is played in the same manner as the Union Siege Guns. Sometimes the text is inconsistent in delivery, but the intent is the same with regard to when the card gets played.
1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
"It may be doubted whether so small a number of men ever employed so short a space of time with greater or more lasting effects upon the history of the world.” — Sir George Otto Trevelyan on the Battles of Trenton and Princeton
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Detached Cavalry has two possible effects.

Quote:
Played prior to a battle against an army possessing one or more cavalry brigades. The ONLY effects are the Army’s Commanding General’s battle rating (offense or defense) is immediately reduced by 2 and no Cavalry general’s battle ratings may be used in the battle. The effects end at the conclusion of the battle. Cavalry generals are not available for casualty determination. OR: Place one PC marker in any space within four spaces (includes river connections) of a single cavalry brigade. The four space range many not be traced through Northeast Alabama. The space may not contain an enemy SP or fort, but may contain an Ironclad or Torpedoes.


If using the first effect, it is played as a Battle Card; if the second, as a regular Event Card. It is not labeled as a Battle Card because it is only sometimes one; the text nevertheless makes it clear.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Rees
United Kingdom
Liss Forest
Hampshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick response and answer!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.