GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,469 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
13 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition): Shards of the Throne» Forums » Rules

Subject: Space Mines rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marko Kemenj
Serbia
Novi Sad
flag msg tools
mb
Ok this one came last night in a game. So one maybe not that simply question: What happened to fighters after Carrier is hit by space mines?

We all know that GP are all dead but what with fighters? Do they survive till the Space Combat Step or are they also destroyed,if there is not enough capacity to support all those fighters (with Carriers/War Suns/Flag)???
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
R H
United States
Bethany
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
they are immediately removed if the system does not have the capacity to hold them.

The example given on page 10 of SE dictates:
The Carrier is then
destroyed and the Dreadnought is damaged. Although
he did not have to roll for the Fighters, they are now
destroyed because they are not supported (by a
Carrier, a Space Dock, or the Advanced Fighters
technology).



Now, there is the rule of (page 29 base rules):
Note that a system's Fighter capacity is not relevant
during a Space Battle. This means that Fighters participating
in a Space Battle can continue to fight even if
their Carrier has been destroyed. After a Space Battle
has ended, however, Fighter units without sufficient
supporting capacity are immediately removed.


but, the triggering of Space Mines happens after PDS fire step of an activation in which a player moves ships into a system, so they appear to be destroyed before the Space Battle takes place.

Of course, there might be something in the FAQ or something posted by Corey on the topic. I haven't been able to commit all those to memory well (at least enough to know where to find them fast)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.