Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Gear & Piston» Forums » Rules

Subject: Espionage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kit Warren
United States
Apopka
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rulebook states:

"You cannot take this action if you have reached the hand limit of five."

Does this mean I cannot look at the players hand? Or, does it only mean I cannot take a blueprint after looking?

We had this come up once and decided the look was allowed without taking a blueprint.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Roberts
United Kingdom
Burton On Trent
Staffordshire
flag msg tools
Sysop of "Big Bang Burger Bar" Forum (www.bigbangburgerbar.co.uk)
badge
Organiser of "Raiders of the Game Cupboard" (www.raidersofthegamecupboard.co.uk)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the Espionage Action Description:
Quote:
You cannot take this action if you have reached the hand limit of five.


From the Section about Hand Limits:
Quote:
If the limit is reached, a player cannot
resolve any action that would result in drawing additional parts in hand.


So looking at both of those if the action results in you obtaining a part you can not take that action if your hand is full.

So in this case you would not be able to take the Espionage action at all.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kit Warren
United States
Apopka
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarification!

So, Espionage is one Action with three parts considered as the whole action:

1) Look at opponent's hand
2) Take a BluePrint
3) Put the BluePrint in your hand

Since part three cannot be completed because you have reached the hand limit, none of the Espionage action can be done.

By the way, this is how I read it. I was overruled by the majority.

Also, Thanks for the quick reply!!!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.