Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ian Kissell
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've played maybe 6-7 games of Five Tribes across all player counts (although my question more pertains to 3-4 player games), so I have some experience with the game, but am maybe not quite an expert.

I have started to notice a trend in the game:
1. Final scores, at least for the top 3 players, tend to be very close. Normally the winner has won by only a point or two.

2. The person that looks like he is doing really well in the game often does not win (For instance, a friend of mine collected two sets of 9 goods and still got 2nd).

This has made me start to wonder how much your choices really matter in the game. First of all, I understand that the game is a lot about correctly valuing moves and bidding correctly. However, I wonder if the opportunity cost for one move over another tends to even most of the choices out. For instance, you might get a better move, but you had to give up points to get to take that action. All of this leads me to wonder if all of the choices are more or less even, and so one person ends up barely on top more from blind luck than anything.

I would love people's thoughts on the matter.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A C
Netherlands
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If it didn't really matter, I think:
- the game would not be ranked this high
- it would not be a game one can be good/better at
- the game would not be so infinitely replayable

I have played 30 games and have come to the conclusions that the right move at the right time is crucial. I agree that there is no ONE road to victory but there sure are roads to definite defeat. In our games there frequently is a 30 point margin...

Out of interest:
When players allow someone to score 120 from goods alone they are either not paying attention, or have found a strategy I have yet to discover.