Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Citrus» Forums » Rules

Subject: merging with a neutral plantation while building rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bart R.
Belgium
Tongeren
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This came up in our game last night. There was a neutral plantation with two yellow tiles. Someone then bought two yellow tiles and started a new plantation, merging it with the neutral plantation at the same time.

To be clear: the neutral and new plantation were on different fincas.

There were two trains of thought about this:
- When the first tile of the new plantation is placed, the plantation is only one tile big, so it can't be merged with a two tile neutral plantation.
- The two tiles of the new plantation are placed in one 'move', so the merger is allowed.

In the end, we went with option two. Did we play correctly?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arthur Semotan
United States
New Lenox
IL
flag msg tools
badge
Snake Juice
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The way we've played it is that the plantation owned by the player must be as large as the plantation being merged to before the merging happens. I just reread the rules and on page four at the bottom it states this. Hope this helps!
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bart R.
Belgium
Tongeren
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for your answer! It's no problem when the plantations are already on the board, but the rules don't seem to cover merging when you're building a plantation. Or maybe I'm just seeing a problem that isn't actually there
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Riddle
United States
Leesburg
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Remember: "Plantation" does NOT equal "Region."

"Building a plantation" is putting 1 tile on the board. Thus, each tile placed is considered; you do not "build a region" which would be putting multiple tiles on the board together.

So, when building a plantation that would join your region to a neutral region, you must first check that your region is at least as large. It's in the rulebook.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomello Visello
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
riddle13 wrote:
Remember: "Plantation" does NOT equal "Region."

"Building a plantation" is putting 1 tile on the board. Thus, each tile placed is considered; you do not "build a region" which would be putting multiple tiles on the board together.

So, when building a plantation that would join your region to a neutral region, you must first check that your region is at least as large. It's in the rulebook.

Adding this rules quote for supporting reference (my highlight)

You may build a plantation that connects one of your regions to a neutral region of the same color, provided that your region is at least as large (number of tiles) as the neutral region before the merger. If the neutral region is larger merging is off-limits.



(saw the same thing today with an opponent. came here to verify)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.