Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Genesis: Empires and Kingdoms of the Ancient Middle East» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attacking a city rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
erez shpirer
Israel
flag msg tools
Hi I got a rule question, if anyone knows.

If I attacked a city, and won, and I did casualties and the city had some defense power left - do I need to attack it again, or does it automatically lose and turn to my side?

If I attack again, it means I have to spend a movement point again, so conquering cities can take longer this way...?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Hellsten
United Kingdom
Thatcham
Berkshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Relevant rules sections;
Genesis Rules 8.1 Step 4 wrote:
If a City was used in the defense,
the Defender cannot retreat nor may the Attacker force a retreat.

Genesis Rules 8.1 Step 7 wrote:
If the space is a Fortified City, the Attacker
must either attack the city (go to Step 1 after taking Slaves and/
or Seizing Treasury) or Regroup.

If the city is still fortified and you won the battle. You can spend 1MP to attack again. If you lost the battle you'd have to regroup. If you have no more MP you also have to regroup.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
erez shpirer
Israel
flag msg tools
Thanks. That's what I thought.

It doesn't really say the word "again" there, so it wasn't totally clear.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McG
Australia
Penshurst
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Some answers from Alan Ray
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@@.1dd47afc/416

So in a situation where the defender has infantry inside a fortified city, and the attacker wins the battle, but does not eliminate the defenders, what happens?

1. Is the attacker forced to Regroup, or can the Attacker pay 1MP and attack again?

Assuming that the city is still Fortified and occupied by one or more combat units, the attacker must Regroup - "Step 7: If Defender combat units still occupy the Battle Space, the Attacker must Regroup (8.4.7)."

The balance of Step 7 applies if no combat units remain in the Fortified City.

2. Does the attacker gain a Slave if defending Infantry are lost?

6.5.2 applies whenever the player wins a battle. That the attacker must Regroup or that a city was involved is irrelevant - see Step 8

3. If a King is also defending the fortified city, is Treasury seized?

5.4 apples whenever a player wins a battle against an opposing King. That the attacker must Regroup or that a city was involved is irrelevant - see Step 8

Keep in mind the scale of the game - see the Design Note at the end of 8.4.7

4. If the DS of the city drops to 0, can the attacker force a retreat?

No - see Step 4 of he Battle Sequence.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls