Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Virgin Queen» Forums » Rules

Subject: May the holder of a captured leader refuse return during the Ransom Segment? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frank Riskey
United States
Boise
Idaho
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A point of contention in a current game. An army leader was captured. My understanding is that during the Ransom Segment the power holding the leader has no choice - the leader must be returned for a random card draw from the power owning the leader.

9.3 Ransom of Leaders
The second segment of the Diplomacy Phase allows a power to
regain a captured army leader whose return was not negotiated in
the Negotiation Segment. The power that captured the army leader
randomly draws one card (the ransom) from the hand of the power
requesting the leader back. Place that army leader in his capital if
possible; if not place him in a friendly home key. Any number of
army leaders may be ransomed in this segment. However, there
is never any requirement to ransom an army leader; a power may
choose to let him remain a captive indefinitely.


Is my understanding correct?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
Yes. The captor has no choice in the matter.

If the captor could refuse, the entire ransom segment would be pointless, as you can always negotiate the release during diplomacy.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.