Jon Snow
United States
New York City
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you take the default action of a Tactician Card to reposition a Leader up to 3 hexes, can you take a unit with him if he is already attached, or do you move only the Leader?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Dippel
Germany
Rheinhausen
Baden-Württemberg
flag msg tools
I am from Bavaria
badge
King Ludwig II of Bavaria
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Leader only
The intention about this action is,
to replace the (now much more important) leaders.
But you you can detach a leader from one unit and attach it to another
(before an additional question come up)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Laporte
France
Limeil-Brevannes
Val de Marne
flag msg tools
But I'm still going to add an additional question!

From what I see, a leader can detach even if the unit is in square or can join a unit already in square?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Dippel
Germany
Rheinhausen
Baden-Württemberg
flag msg tools
I am from Bavaria
badge
King Ludwig II of Bavaria
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
You will find your answers for sure in rulebook, page 7, section "Moving Leaders" and "Attached Leaders", and if you don´t find there exact wordings like "a leader may attach to a unit into square", please let away own interpretations and use only the described basic rules (nothing more, nothing less) whistle
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Laporte
France
Limeil-Brevannes
Val de Marne
flag msg tools
The sentence I vaguely remembered in the rules that had me thinking about it was this one:

"A leader attached to an infantry unit in square cannot be issued an order to detach. When the unit is ordered to come out of square, the leader may also be simultaneously ordered to detach on the same turn using an additional command."

However, I guess the tactician default action card is not an order but a "special move" so this rule doesn't apply here. With the tactician default action, it seems that you ignore the usual detach/attach rules entirely if I'm not mistaken.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Snow
United States
New York City
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree with you, but it could certainly be played either way.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Dippel
Germany
Rheinhausen
Baden-Württemberg
flag msg tools
I am from Bavaria
badge
King Ludwig II of Bavaria
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I will check it, to get the designers (not players) intention.
You will get the very official answer soon
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Laporte
France
Limeil-Brevannes
Val de Marne
flag msg tools
Great, thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Dippel
Germany
Rheinhausen
Baden-Württemberg
flag msg tools
I am from Bavaria
badge
King Ludwig II of Bavaria
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I was wrong sadly (i wished, the basic rule applied here also, because of the simplicity of the game).

A: The default action of a Tactician card, allows a leader to reposition, which is not really ordering the leader.
Therefore a leader that is attached to a unit in square may detach from the infantry unit in square by using the default action of a Tactician card.



2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Snow
United States
New York City
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
goo It just goes to show that you never know until you ask! I remember Wellington being "trapped inside a square" for a while in real life, but this is more about game balance I imagine.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Laporte
France
Limeil-Brevannes
Val de Marne
flag msg tools
Always good to have a definite answer to a question, thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls

Minot
North Dakota
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Does seem counter-intuitive, but RBorg has spoken.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Stone
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, may you play more than one Tactician Card as a default action to move multiple leaders?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Dippel
Germany
Rheinhausen
Baden-Württemberg
flag msg tools
I am from Bavaria
badge
King Ludwig II of Bavaria
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Quote:
Also, may you play more than one Tactician Card as a default action to move multiple leaders?


Yes, but remember, each unit/leader may get only 1TC per turn,
so if a leader got a TC benefit from another TC during turn (to increase
a unit dice e.g.), he can´t get another TC for default action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.