Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Discoveries: The Journals of Lewis and Clark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Card 34 (Tenino) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
g colhoun
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Northern Ireland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
If I use a river exploration and trigger this card I get +1r

What if I have triggered at the same time card 25 (1r+4m):

Is my expedition now 1r+1r+4m

or 1r+4m+1r?



In other words, where does the card 24 +1r occur? Along with the other river moves or after the other card resolves?

TIA
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juan Crespo
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The way I understand it, the + 1 r or +1 m are added to an existing expedition. So by a strict interpretation, you can't split the rivers or the mountains. They literally become a + 1 to the existing number.

By the same token, the + 1 can't be played by itself, it has to be part of a simultaneously launched expedition.
3 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
g colhoun
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Northern Ireland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Yes I tend to think it would be added to the expedition, ie 1r+4m+1r in the example above.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C├ędrick Chaboussit
France
Niort
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Juan is right, the +1r has to be added to an already existing river move.

Therefore in the above example, 1r+4m+1r cannot be obtainted, but 2r+4m can be.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
g colhoun
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Northern Ireland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Ha, that is a definitive answer!

Thanks to you both, and it is a gorgeous looking game.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Denman
United States
Katy
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is this only true of the cards that just say +1 river (for example)? What about a card that says 2 mountains + 2 rivers. Do THOSE +2 rivers have to be added to something else or is it simply a matter of getting 2 river moves after your two mountain moves? This question caused a lot or argument today and I'm thinking that leaving that plus sign off of the card could have made things a LOT easier to sort out.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jer Wolfe
United States
Nampa
Idaho
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would think, Michael, that the definitive answer is only if the card "only" has "+"1(or 2)R or "+"1 (or 2)M, emphasis on "+".
The "+" would be read as "add to existing, similar, explore action".

If a card has 2M then it is not "add to existing explore action" it is it's own explore action.

So by way of reverse example, to answer your question, the 2R"+"2M card and the "+"2M card are different in that the first "+" is read as "next you add" and the second "+" is read as "add to existing, similar, explore action"

From what I understand whistle
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan
Slovakia
Kosice
flag msg tools
mbmb
What happens in case I use 2 different move (river) actions at the same time? F.e. even 2 basic river movements (2r & 3r).
Do I get +1r to each of those?: 2r +1r & 3r + 1r = 7r
or only once?: 2r & 3r +1r = 6r
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jer Wolfe
United States
Nampa
Idaho
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jan,

Tenino can only be triggered one time as soon as you add a Journal die to it.
So it can only be used to add +1R to an existing Explore action that has at least 1 river.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clement Tey
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Chabousse wrote:
Juan is right, the +1r has to be added to an already existing river move.

Therefore in the above example, 1r+4m+1r cannot be obtainted, but 2r+4m can be.
I accept this explanation (of course!) but just wondering where I can find what "+1" means in the rulebook?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jer Wolfe
United States
Nampa
Idaho
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Clememnt,

Since this is not a rule but a card condition, it is located on Pg 12.
Under the "Exploration cards" heading.

#34 Tenino...
"Add one River to a move along Rivers. This effect does not apply"
"if it is not associated with another River Exploration Action."

So that is the +1, only usable with a separate River action.


#35 Multnomah
"Add two Rivers to a move along Rivers. This effect does not apply"
"if it is not associated with another River Exploration Action."

And this is the +2, again only usable with a separate River action


#36 Nez Perce
"Add one Mountain to a move through Mountains. This effect"
"does not apply if it is not associated with another Mountain"
"exploration Action."

So this is the +1 for Mountains, again only usable with a separate Mountain action.

Hopefully that should clear it up.
(Edits: Spelling)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls