Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Clash of Monarchs» Forums » Rules

Subject: British subsidy and Pitt resigns rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Denis Cobrousev
Russia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. If there is no British commitment, may Britain pay subsidy in 1757?

2. If Britain stops subsiy, may it resume it later?

3. When Pitt resigns, does Prussia suffer -2 MW for losing subsidy in addition to "Pitt resigns" effects?

4. If Pitt resigns when subsidy is already stopped, does it still affect Prussian MW?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. I don't think so.

2. I think so.

3. I think so.

4. I don't think so.

Not sure on my answers. I just didn't want you to feel lonely here. Happy to expand on any of my answers if nobody else chimes in.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bob kalinowski
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mark, thanks for your thoughts on this.

1. No
2. No.
3. Yes.
4. No. Prussia can only suffer a -2 MW once for the subsidy being stopped.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Denis Cobrousev
Russia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
3. I. e. Prussian loses 4 MW total?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
3 out of 4 isn't too bad. On the Pitt resigns, I don't know what the card says. What does the card say?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Denis Cobrousev
Russia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It is not a card. It is a Deus ex Machina event.

Quote:
If Spain is Neutral, subtract 2 Prussian Thl, permanently remove the Prussian Subsidy marker, and suffer -2 Prus / -1 Brit MW.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It sounds cumulative to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bob kalinowski
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Denis, Mark,

I think you've found a gap in the FOW and Dip chart interaction.

To be clear -- whether the Pitt Resigns FOW event occurs, or the Brits drop the Prussian Subsidy due to economic concerns, the Prus will only suffer a -2 MW total.

I will have to make a Living Rules/Post Pub update on this. The big hit of Pitt Resigning historically was that Prussia lost the subsidy. The Prus might have lost it with Pitt at the reins anyway, given more negative economic conditions. So losing the subsidy only happens once, and losing the MW should only happen once as well.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for clearing that up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.