Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Bowling Solitaire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you elect to stop the first part of a frame early? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim K
Australia
Colonel Light Gardens
SA
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you to choose to stop the first part of a frame early. For example let's say you have knocked down 8 pins and there is only a 5 and 2 left. If one of the top cards is a 5 you could use it to knock down a 9th pin but that would leave just the 2. If the other remaining 2 was already used there would be no possible way of knocking down the last pin. However if there was still one or two 7 cards face down you could elect to stop at 8 pins and then hope to turn one over as part of your second ball thereby earning yourself a spare. Is stopping at 8 pins in the above example legal?

24/8/15 edit:

It seems to be advantageous to stop the first frame early in many instances so in the interest of trying to get the highest score possible I am presuming that it is legal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sara Bear
United States
Centerville
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Huh, why did my reply not go thru? Wrong button maybe.

Interested in the answer, just found the game. Unanswered questions like this might be a problem.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scribes
England
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. From the source book;

Quote:
...if, in the hopes of obtaining a spare, the player chooses not to use one [ball card] that could be used, the player has reached to end of the first ball.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.