Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Archipelago» Forums » Rules

Subject: clarification on selling and on building control rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
mongo england
England
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


Great Game - Rules could have been much clearer and not so ambiguous.
there's already 26 pages of confused people.

Can someone clarify the following please

1) when selling a good to domestic or foreign market you place the good sold on the market board itself and not into the bank - If you sell a good using an explore token you do this only if there's a matching resource in the bank and you the move that resource to the market you sold it to ?

2) confusion over crisis - When a crisis occurs (phase 4 or emergency ones is ohase 6) is this what happens :- Lie everyone down. Including people on a hex with a controlled church and the person in the church - Then resolve crisis starting with player 1 and go clockwise. so player 3 would stand up any lying down dude he had in a church without having to pay the cost - Does a player who controls a church choose who he stands up in that hex or is it just everyone in the hex is safe ?
One all players have had a chance to contribute to the crisis and use church powers count all lying down meeples (rebels) and add that number to the rebel track

If this is phase 6 theres a good chance of hitting multiple crisis - Does every one get knock down again and process repeated if another red crisis happens ?

3) can you use another players market / port and if so do you need to be in the same hex and can it be use if another player has already used it ?

Think that's me done - other than does any one know if there is a card explanation sheet for the solo expansion - The base game explains all the objectives cards in its rules book - The solo expansion cards require some working out - like deciphering hyro-gylphics
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lochi Lochi
Spain
Madrid
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Yes, you take the material from the bank and put it in the market.
2) The owner of the church may negotiate which meeples will stand and which won't.
In phase 6 the process is the same, but as knocking them down won't have any effect apart from adding up rebellion, you may just do the math instead.
3) Buildings may be used only by their owners.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorge
Switzerland
Lausanne
Vaud
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi! To address your questions separately:

m0ng0 wrote:
1) when selling a good to domestic or foreign market you place the good sold on the market board itself and not into the bank - If you sell a good using an explore token you do this only if there's a matching resource in the bank and you the move that resource to the market you sold it to ?

Yes. When you sell, you always put the cube in the market and not in the bank. The first available space determines the price you'll get from selling the cube. If you convert an explorer token to a resource, so that you can sell it, there must be a matching cube in the resource bank to sell it.

m0ng0 wrote:
2) confusion over crisis - When a crisis occurs (phase 4 or emergency ones is ohase 6) is this what happens :- Lie everyone down. Including people on a hex with a controlled church and the person in the church - Then resolve crisis starting with player 1 and go clockwise. so player 3 would stand up any lying down dude he had in a church without having to pay the cost - Does a player who controls a church choose who he stands up in that hex or is it just everyone in the hex is safe ?
One all players have had a chance to contribute to the crisis and use church powers count all lying down meeples (rebels) and add that number to the rebel track

If this is phase 6 theres a good chance of hitting multiple crisis - Does every one get knock down again and process repeated if another red crisis happens ?

When an domestic (top-half) crisis occurs:

1. You lay down everyone, except meeples in Churches. You do lay down, however, meeples on tiles with controlled Churches. Note that you also lay down meeples in Towns, even if they're controlling Churches from a distance.

2. Each player, in order, tries to resolve the crisis, if he wants to do, so. Players controlling Churches may, during their own turn, stand up any meeples on the corresponding tiles of their choice. If you control a Church, yes, you can demand tributes/etc to stand up other players' meeples.

During phase 6, you may indeed repeat the same process multiple times. Note that during phase 6 it doesn't matter which meeples rebel or not, just their numbers, as all of them will stand up during Disengagement phase (#1) of the next round.

m0ng0 wrote:
3) can you use another players market / port and if so do you need to be in the same hex and can it be use if another player has already used it ?

You may only use a Port/Market if you have a meeple controlling it. This means either you have a meeple in the Port/Market, or the Port/Market is empty and you have a Town on the same hex with a meeple in it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pat Connolly
United States
Zephyrhills
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
m0ng0 wrote:

1) when selling a good to domestic or foreign market you place the good sold on the market board itself and not into the bank - If you sell a good using an explore token you do this only if there's a matching resource in the bank and you the move that resource to the market you sold it to ?
Sold goods go on the market board. This could change the price of future deals and the idleness/unrest levels.

Quote:
2) confusion over crisis - When a crisis occurs (phase 4 or emergency ones is ohase 6) is this what happens :- Lie everyone down. Including people on a hex with a controlled church and the person in the church - Then resolve crisis starting with player 1 and go clockwise. so player 3 would stand up any lying down dude he had in a church without having to pay the cost - Does a player who controls a church choose who he stands up in that hex or is it just everyone in the hex is safe ?
One all players have had a chance to contribute to the crisis and use church powers count all lying down meeples (rebels) and add that number to the rebel track

If this is phase 6 theres a good chance of hitting multiple crisis - Does every one get knock down again and process repeated if another red crisis happens ?
The player who controls the church decides which meeples stand up. Haven't played recently, but I don't think it matters whether the church part happens right away or only when it gets to the controlling player. I suppose it might if the church player was last and promised to stand up meeples, but didn't because he was the Separatist. Yep multiple crises knock you down again. Just remember "Tubthumping" by Chumbawamba.

Quote:
3) can you use another players market / port and if so do you need to be in the same hex and can it be use if another player has already used it ?
Nope.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mongo england
England
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks guys thats me set for the next game - tubthumbping lol I'll be singing in my head for ages now - arrrr
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rocky Pierce
United States
West Monroe
LA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Picon wrote:

1. You lay down everyone, except meeples in Churches. You do lay down, however, meeples on tiles with controlled Churches. Note that you also lay down meeples in Towns, even if they're controlling Churches from a distance.

2. Each player, in order, tries to resolve the crisis, if he wants to do, so. Players controlling Churches may, during their own turn, stand up any meeples on the corresponding tiles of their choice. If you control a Church, yes, you can demand tributes/etc to stand up other players' meeples.


Sorry this may be off topic, but I searched and found this and need some advice.

When your meeple on the city lays down it can't control the church when it's time to stand everyone up, right? So, if you are on a hex, occupying a town, with a church in the hex as well, but with no meeple occupying it, then a crises hits and you have to lay all your meeples down, I know you must lay down your meeple on the town, as well, but when it's your turn can you use the church to stand up the meeples in that hex, even the meeple on the town. Or because your meeple, on the town, is laid down it can't use the church and therefore must be stood up first. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cardboard-Nose
Germany
Hessen
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Rpierce1892 wrote:
Sorry this may be off topic, but I searched and found this and need some advice.

When your meeple on the city lays down it can't control the church when it's time to stand everyone up, right? So, if you are on a hex, occupying a town, with a church in the hex as well, but with no meeple occupying it, then a crises hits and you have to lay all your meeples down, I know you must lay down your meeple on the town, as well, but when it's your turn can you use the church to stand up the meeples in that hex, even the meeple on the town. Or because your meeple, on the town, is laid down it can't use the church and therefore must be stood up first. Thanks.

The second one. You lay down the citizen in the town, making the town and the temple uncontrolled, i.e. useless. To use the temple again, you need to make sure you stand up the citizen on the town first. Then, you may use the temple's power to stand up the rest of the citizens on that hex, if you like.
So it's a bit more risky to control a temple remotely from a town.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.